Latest 100 Hot Pool Reviews

1
Rating: 9/10
Always enjoy coming here, place is always tidy and in a good state of repair. Pools themselves are clean, I enjoy the bigger thermal pool mostly as the smaller one is a tad too hot (others may like this) Only issue is the $22 fee for adults to get in is rather excessive.
Carl - Lower Hutt
20th March 2017
2
Rating: 6/10
Place feels a bit dated and needs some TLC. Main pool had some foliage in it from the bamboo alongside the pool. The 1.2m Geothermal pool needs a fresh coat of plaster as the water has eaten away at it over time, ground in it is a little rough. The Hotter pool is a bit too shallow but nice and warm. Access to the pools will be tricky if you have a disability as there are some steps and steep path. Water itself is nice and warm, can't smell anything like sulphur. Signs around the pool do note it is filtered. Overall the place would be great if a bit of money was spent on the place.
Carl - Lower Hutt
15th March 2017
3
Rating: 9/10
Nice, comfortable, lovely quiet place to stay. Hot pool is very relaxing. Definitely be back!
Tatanera -
31th January 2017
4
Rating: 8/10
Wonderful place to visit after a rainy hike on Ruapehu. Great price, friendly and helpful staff, and soothing water. We had 20 minutes in the private pools which was enough because of the heat. The public pool felt great after that. The only shower facilities are a couple of cold poolside ones, but it does the job.
Jo - UK
09th February 2017
5
Rating: 2/10
When I arrived I asked what time they close. I was told 9pm. I asked would we have 5 min to ba able to change. No problem was the answer even if we stayed longer it would not be a problem. There is a clock however not enough light to see it from the other side of the pool late at night. Then suddenly the lights went off. I ended up hurting myself in the dark as a result I have a light concussion and whiplash. Saddest thing is not even a sorry from the owner as we should know what the time is. I had overseas guest with me and they are both fire officers. They thought it was rather strange the pool was not checked if it was empty. We have been visiting there for 40 years although not regularly lately however this attitude I have never experienced before. The middle pool needs some maintenence also.
Marjo - Lichfield New Zealand
15th February 2017
6
Rating: 10/10
What New Zealand is all about.
Mrs SF - Auckland
23th February 2017
7
Rating: 10/10
Used the private pool service and found that very relaxing. The staff led by Phil and Tina Smith are very friendly and helpful. The walk around the woodland thermal pools is free, very interesting and and well worth the effort. Would recommend anyone to go there. It may need some TLC but it is clean and well maintained. Well worth the $10 each.
John Harrison - Gloucester UK
26th January 2017
8
Rating: 1/10
Massive slip decimates Sylvia Flats Hot Springs, Lewis Pass: 20th January 2017 The famous Sylvia Flats natural thermal hot springs that has been a secret haven for locals and their friends for years, has disappeared following a massive landslip in the advent of the torrential rainfalls on the West Coast on 20th January 2017. The Lewis Pass region is host to numerous natural thermal waters, many in remote locations accessible only on foot. Sylvia Flats is located alongside the Lewis River, 20 kms past the Maruia Springs thermal resort. The weekend's downpour triggered a slip on the side of the highway, completely burying the geothermal pools. The access track from the car park has also completely collapsed . A DOC warning sign has long warned thermal bathers to not use the pools and be mindful of rockfalls, however has not deterred visitors to experience the wonder of the natural geothermal pools, that usually reach 40 degrees.
Michael Moore - Christchurch, New Zealand
22th January 2017
9
Rating: 10/10
We found the Secret Spot today at circa 4.00pm, (I suppose not so secret now given all of the reviews). We had a fantastic time and it was free, it was not crowded, the area was clean and only one discarded bottle was found, no broken glass was found in the area. Everybody was friendly and in a good frame of mind. It was textile bathing today which is fine as would skinny if that had been the majority mode of bathing. There are good wooden steps and railings to the stream which added to the experience and if they were provided and maintained by DOC then thanks. But whoever did this its a job well done. I will return when we are next in the area and would recommend it to others
Tim - UK
09th January 2017
10
Rating: 1/10
We booked a private pool online via bookme.nz the day before and received confirmation of our booking within the hour. Unfortunately, the following afternoon we turned up 30minutes before our allotted time of 2.30pm and were told that the private pools were fully booked! The woman at reception responded as if this was our fault for not double checking if our booking still stood, despite us producing the confirmation letter and the fact the money had been taken from us. Apparently nobody had checked 'the system' since the day before and so our booking did not go through, it would have been nice to have received warning of this via phonecall or email before making our way to the hot pools. We were very disappointed when we arrived to be turned away in this manner, as we had planned our day around this activity.
Nick - Australia
05th January 2017
11
Rating: 10/10
Beautiful emerald lake, temp like a warm bath, swam about three meters out. Nobody around. What a delight!
Amelia - Nz
02th January 2017
12
Rating: 2/10
Its definitely pretty and easy to find, but there is a huge government warning sign next to the pool because of Meningitis amebas, which by the way at 100% fatal if contracted. The sign advises to keep the water out of your noise, but is it really worth the risk? Also the entire trail leading up to pool is covered in used toilet paper. Ew.
Andrew C - Pleasanton, USA
01th January 2016
13
Rating: 5/10
Um I don't know what to say it was half and half the water slides were amazing I would recommend that but the pools are disgusting 😭😭😭
Marco - Italy
23th December 2016
14
Rating: 1/10
This place is a bad advertisement for an Kiwi Holiday Park. We had some Canadians staying next to us and they were concerned that all Holiday Parks in NZ were as bad as Golden Springs. The place is untidy and mostly unkept. Our room had leaking guttering over the entrance, maintenance required everywhere you look. I don't say this easily but the place is a dump. Some of the caravan and tent sites looked ok. I would never recommend Golden Springs and the review average score they have from the online booking site I used to book must be rigged. In order to run a Holiday Park you have to pay attention to the grounds and buildings, not sit behind a computer.
Scott - New Zealand
28th November 2016
15
Rating: 1/10
Really annoyed (and I am sure I am not alone here as a lot of other people were turning up when we did) that when we arrived at 7pm on Saturday night with a birthday girl and friends for a swim to be informed that they were closing early for a staff Christmas function!! No notice on door, or website or anywhere else I could find. So disappointing :(
Kerry - Mount Maunganui
26th November 2016
16
Rating: 9/10
We visit this place every summer. This year in March is was unbearably HOT, too hot for the children to enjoy. At the time I wondered whether the temperature was connected to geothermal activity in the area. Has anyone been recently given the slew of earthquakes?
Maren Williams - New Zealand
27th November 2016
17
Rating: 5/10
My wife and myself have been coming to waiwera since we were kids we are now in our early 50s so I feel we are able to comment on the pools . It was the place to go when we were young everything was new and exciting but it is in a very worn out state now the tubes were awesome but they no longer exist and that's so sad.also the camp grounds no longer exist that was a cool place to stay the hotel was knocked down a few years back now it's just vacant land its just so sad to see a NZ icon going down hill so fast .the locals keep the place propped up but since the freeway went through its a ghost town.this unfortunately is a sign of the times no money no people no business.we still go to waiwera but we don't go to the pools anymore we choose to stay at the coach trail lodge which has its own pools .love waiwera but it's like watching someone slowly die very sad indeed.
Lisa and Jim Palmer - Whangarei
21th November 2016
18
Rating: 1/10
wow.rude owners.long way to access with the crapist food,service and over all experience.go to the aroha.
bather - hamilton
28th October 2016
19
Rating: 9/10
Awesome place to visit alone, with friends or Whaanau. Clears away the aches and pains
marina pouesi - Aotearoa nz
19th October 2016
20
Rating: 6/10
Check the tide heights as well as the times. We tried on a midday tide with a predicted low of 1.1m, but after 11am the hot spot we could feel under the sand was still knee-deep.
Dennis - Australia
12th October 2016
21
Rating: 10/10
Love these pools, the camping ground and the meals served in the cafe.
Maureen - NZ
02th October 2016
22
Rating: 10/10
Kia Ora Marilyn & Knox Thankyou so much for your tautoko to us whilst we were there to attend our Aunty's Tangi at Tikapa (21-22 Sept 2016) and for your kindness providing transport for us - this we will not forget. We look forward to coming back. Nga Mihi - Arohanui Hana, Laurayne, and Lawrence (Skipper/Konia Whanau)
Laurayne Mariu - Wellington
27th September 2016
23
Rating: 10/10
Loved this place! It was quiet, peaceful and just off the beaten track. Went here early in the morning (about 8:30 am) and practically had the place to ourselves apart from one local lady who was very informative about the springs and its healing properties. Kids loved it as it wasn't too deep. So much more authentic than many of the commercial operations back in town. Really affordable for a family of five. Highly recommend the Soda Springs.
Joanna - Melbourne
24th September 2016
24
Rating: 10/10
What an amazing experience! My parents are in NZ for a visit and thought it would be good to do the tourist thing and delighted we went to Hell's Gate! Very informative and helpful staff members explained everything, we did the the walk, the mud and sulphar spa! Would definitely do it again.
Stefni - Auckland / South Africa / Saudi
16th September 2016
25
Rating: 7/10
I went a few times last year and really enjoyed the place. It's nice to see a pool complex for adults at Palm Springs with a relaxing environment to wind down and have an alcoholic beverage with out all the mayhem of yelling and screaming kids. Plam Springs targets the adult market segment which is great, that way they bring something unique to the their target audience. Ruckus families with kids can pop over the road, while us adults can be left in peace. Palm Springs number 1 fan.
Malcolm - Auckland
03th June 2016
26
Rating: 8/10
My partner and I went recently to the springs. First thing I would say is it is a bit pricey (over $30 if including the slide pass) especially as you only get really short "pass-outs" & can't leave for longer than 15 minutes at a time. The pools aren't really that hot except for the three sulfer pools at the top. Other than the first two points, the pools layout is awesome, the slides are awesome, the facilities are modern and first class & the staff are pretty good at not letting you put your head under water :P I'd go again, but I'd try other ones first.
Nicholas Wisniewski - Ashburton
08th June 2016
27
Rating: 10/10
The BEST hot springs. Have been coming to the pools since approx.1954. Cant get enough of the soaking and feeling so great afterwards.
Pam - New Zealand
14th June 2016
28
Rating: 1/10
NOT THERMAL HOTWATER! Pools are artificially heated and there is no mention of this. This listing should not be on this website; I thought this site was dedicated to thermal pools only?
Nick - Hastings
15th June 2016
29
Rating: -/10
This was a great place, ive been going there since like forever 1985, a little off the main road but was worth it, nice and open with no buildings, free for everyone as nature intended, so yeah not happy that this has become a money grabber, when ever i visited i would to do my bit to maintain the place, but last time i visited these buildings were there and they wanted a fee so i offered a donation which was refused, so have never gone again so sad really,should have been left alone, maybe a sign stating where you could leave a donation, this was free in open 24hrs a day now people dont know when its open 0/10
Kevy - NZ
19th June 2016
30
Rating: 10/10
Tokaanu Thermal pools has been my favourite for 20+ years , always stop there on my way north and back home if I can Love the place and it's old fashioned ambience , I recommend it to all my guests
Hilary - New Zealand
08th July 2016
31
Rating: 10/10
due to the disrepect by many back in the days, rubbish, broken bottles everywhere, in out and around the baths .. basically it almost went from a Nice Free Clean baths to a rubbish tip so owners decided to put a stop to it. The results is what you see now, lovely, clean maintained always. If one feels paying an entry is wrong, i suggest one goes elsewhere ..
mar - rotorua
14th July 2016
32
Rating: 9/10
I visited this fantastic pool often about 45 years ago and am now disappointed that it has become so well known and now being further ruined by DOC as the beauty of the secret pool was its natural nature and surrounding . I will not return to it now that has lost its charm. My friends and I often visited another secret hot pool in the area and on checking with my friend who still lives in the area I am told that it is still secret only known to a few locals and never put in a guide book or this site , it is this pool that I will visit soon .
J A Walker - North Canterbury
31th July 2016
33
Rating: 6/10
It should be noted that this is not on private land but you have to cross private land to get there , so stop at homestead and ask the nice people
Jeff - North Canterbury
31th July 2016
34
Rating: 9/10
Great place to be here, had an awesome time with my family. Will be dying to come back here. Also the staff was really nice and well behaved.
ritesh - india
05th September 2016
35
Rating: 6/10
It should be noted that this is not on private land but you have to cross private land to get there , so stop at homestead and ask the nice people
Jeff - North Canterbury
31th July 2016
36
Rating: 10/10
Lovely spot. Brought a party of 23 (West Auckland Tramping club). Stayed the weekend Holiday Park. Everything was spotless. Hosts very welcoming. Excellent value for money. Highly recommend.
PETER TUOHY - Auckland
11th August 2016
37
Rating: 6/10
Good and bad: Good: Great that they are open again. Apart from a few new coats of pain and fences, it's much the same as before. Which is ok by me because I loved soaking in the hot water looking up at the mountains. Bad: We hired a private spa only to find out that the bubbles weren't working. (You pay 40 bucks for a spa, you expect to get bubbles not just a private hot pool with a view of some gorse) The attendent was a lovely guy and went to get help immediately. Someone returned every few minutes telling us the problem was being looked into. Then after 15 minutes nothing. We sat there in the tub for a further 30 minutes without the problem being solved. After waiting long enough we gave up and went back to the main pools. My partner later when to Chood Singh up at the office for a refund and he got very irate. His manner was very intimidating. He only agreed to refund the amount after my partner threatened to go to Consumer Affairs. Despite the unprofessional management I still love Waingaro Springs. Have been going there since I was a kid in the 70s. I may have trouble convincing my partner to agree to come back again though.
80sfan - New Zealand
11th August 2016
38
Rating: 9/10
Exactly where you think it is. Turn off on Waiotapu loop, and park at the creek bridge. Either side of the bridge is hotter or cooler, literally walk the stairs down right into the welcoming water. We came in August and tremendously enjoyed the hot stream, the cool moonlit night, and the amazing local hospitality! Shout out to the snowboarders Josh and Caleb from Whangarei! :D P.S. Only a 9/10 because of that damn feral cat!
Jason - Duluth, MN USA
13th August 2016
39
Rating: 2/10
Closing the cafe at 7pm on a Friday night and telling a single mum with a party of four pre teen girls their only option was to go over the road to the pub for snacks! That is bad!! Waiwera thermal resort your operation is dilapidated, overpriced and broken and you don't deserve access to our natural resource.
Mark -
19th August 2016
40
Rating: 9/10
My family stayed there for 1 week awhile ago. Safe and clean both pools and camping area. I found the owner to be so helpful and we are maori and poly and all good for us. Sad if others didnt have the same experience.
Frankie young - Manawatu
20th August 2016
41
Rating: 3/10
Clean which is nice but didnt like the staff taking about - a 'Fat blob' of a woman in the pool that would empty out alot of water when she gets in. We were shocked. How dare they talk about customers like that cause they didnt think we could hear. Hate to think what else they say about other unaware customers. Ruined it. Our family wont return.
Frank Young - Titahi Bay
24th August 2016
42
Rating: -/10
I was just passing by so wanted to stop and see The place, but was unable to enter from the Te kopia Rd, as there were closed gates everywhere with lot of signs, that the places are under surveillance and trespassers will be prosecuted :-( . So nudists probably do not want companions :-D .
Tomas - Slovakia
25th May 2016
43
Rating: 7/10
We went there last month, the young lady who took our admittance was pleasant and helpful, pointed out where we could park in the shade so our dogs wouldn't get over heated in the car. The pools and buildings are old but appear to have had quite a lot of painting done of late, were clean and tidy, and the water temperatures were nice at 32 deg in the main pool and 40 in the hot smaller pool. It was not the fanciest, and their little shop is pretty bare but we enjoyed our afternoon there. Reading through the other reviews, I think we had a better experience than some, but I can see that some investment to make improvements might be a good thing.
John Welsford - New Zealand
16th May 2016
44
Rating: -/10

Does not exist. Is just a myth


billy - auckland
05th May 2016
45
Rating: 10/10
We have been a fan of these pools for a while, but the new management has turned a great pool to a truly fantastic venue. The private pools where the cleanest and nicest we have seen them and the team where just lovely to deal with! Well worth us getting a babysitter for!
Jenny - Tauranga
03th May 2016
46
Rating: 10/10
We have been a fan of these pools for a while, but the new management has turned a great pool to a truly fantastic venue. The private pools where the cleanest and nicest we have seen them and the team where just lovely to deal with! Well worth us getting a babysitter for!
Jenny - Tauranga
03th May 2016
47
Rating: 3/10
Overpriced. Will not go back. Since the drowning have put up prices excessively. This is not a Polynesian Spa and can not justify such high prices. Was a regular visitor not now .
Mike - Auckland
01th May 2016
48
Rating: -/10
The map is wrong is showing Wanganui northland is on west coast south island
Steve patrick - Tapanui 9522
19th October 2015
49
Rating: 10/10
Had a lovely, short get-away at the Okoroire Host Springs Hotel. The heritage rooms at the hotel are lovingly restored, comfortable and very spacious. Over the past 18 months a lot of work appears to have been put into the hotel and its surroundings. The hot pools truly are a hidden gem! Enchanting, mesmerising and in a beautiful, private environment, surrounded by lush green bush and Waimakariri River, they truly deserve the name fairy pool. The fairy pool with its sandy bottom was built in 1887, and was New Zealand's first concrete pool apparently. A lot of work has happened, and still is happening, around the pools, and are surely worth a visit and a stay at the hotel (under new ownership).
Tatjana - Waimauku
29th April 2016
50
Rating: -/10
Dropped passed to see these old historic pools. DOC have cut the baths up now so that they will not hold water at all. A shame to see that these pools have been abandoned. Would be a great project to see them rebuilt.
Sika Stag - New Zealand
27th April 2016
51
Rating: 1/10
My family and I 4 generations in all have been coming here as regulars for well over 30 years. That sadly has come to an end. Drove over an hour to get there and was told that they no longer except children. Tried to call after 2pm but no one answered the phone. Answer phone did not mention anything about no children. Read some pretty disturbing reviews including a naked night that was done there. Nothing wholesome about the place anymore. You may pump alot of money into trying to make it look good on the outside but the filth lingers on the inside. Guy working on the desk said HE was sad to turn people away and Blamed the new owners for the decision. This will be thier own undoing.
Pissed off regular for over 30 yra - NZ
08th April 2016
52
Rating: 10/10
Being a descendant of Tahu Matua , and a member of the trust , all we want to see is the preservation and protection of this beautiful place for future generations to enjoy . me and my kids come here most Saturdays, after rugby , to heal up!!!
Local - Ohaki
07th April 2016
53
Rating: 7/10

Went their for a soak with my wife for my Birthday and really enjoyed it nice and peaceful environment and I can see the potential in the place and the new owners are trying to lift the overall standard.looking forward to visiting next time.
Lisa and Jim Palmer - whangarei
11th April 2016
54
Rating: -/10
Do they still have the nude nights here? I. Went a couple of times and it was quite popular.
Ric -
20th April 2016
55
Rating: 10/10
It's a really nice place, if you are up to relaxation and great service. No little kids running around with that noise and mess that follows them. The temperature is great - I love a hot bath - just ask for directions, staff is very helpful. Alan is an amazing host, devoted to the A+ service (and has a beautiful nose, too:) )
Tatiana - Auckland
03th April 2016
56
Rating: 4/10
Warm but stagnant water now not very deep at all. Slim and silt in it
David Perry - Queenstown
22th March 2016
57
Rating: 1/10
Awful and heart-breaking for a little boy. It was Easter Sunday and so before going I checked the website and I rang to enquire if the place was open and till what time. I was told that it was all good and the place was open till 10 pm. My 5-year old son had spent the whole afternoon planning his time at the pools where he had been twice before and even convinced grand-dad and grand-mom to come along with him. We drove for 40 mins (no small journey for a 5-year old) and excitedly ran, swimming hoop in hand, towards the entrance to only find out that we would not be let in as the policy had changed to “adults only”. Before my son had realized that, I tried to explain to the person at the front desk that we had come here before and my son had been looking forward to coming back for weeks and he would be devastated to be turned away right here at the doors in front of the pools. We were, however, not let in (and there was hardly anyone in the pools anyways). It was absolutely devastating for my son, he burst in tears there and then and cried all the way home. We were not informed of the policy change when we rang and it was not stated clearly on the website. All this despite the policy having changed only a few weeks before. I was left quite disgusted with the management of the whole situation. We are never going again, kids or no kids, and so are all our friends and colleagues.
Denis - Auckland
27th March 2016
58
Rating: -/10
Hope your open in June cause I've heard so much about this spot...totally looking forward to a nice hot springs soak on our 2nd day back on home soil
Meadz - Brisbane Australia
27th March 2016
59
Rating: 9/10
I love Palm Springs since it has been sold. The new owners are actually putting money into the business to make it cleaner and more pleasing to the eye and the facilities are spruced up really nicely. Such pity that we cannot take our baby girl back there for a dip, she loved it. Too many parents would come and let their children swim without their supervision, so I understand why the owners have now changed admittance to 18yrs and over only. Keep up the good work owners, Really love what you are doing with Palm Springs.
Carolyn - Swanson, AKL, NZ
28th March 2016
60
Rating: 9/10
So lovely to find a heated spring that was not just a swimming pool. Lovely natural surrounds, peaceful (only 3 others there), friendly host, inexpensive and just out of Rotorua. Would recommend to anyone.
Cheryl - Q'ld Australia
01th April 2016
61
Rating: 6/10
Stop off here occasionally on the way back from the Corromandel if we get on the road early enough. Not the most exciting of places but the kids like it. They like the bouncy pillow - if they get a chance to go on it when there's not a bunch of boys fighting each other on it (they're girls 4 & 6). They just need to wait for a gap no dramas there. Main issue I have is that I've been there twice on a Sunday evening, and both times the food shop has been closed. We're there around dinner time on the way home it's super frustrating as we want to get the kids some dinner. The Kaiaua fish and chip shop is about 10 mins up the road if you phone in your order it'll be ready by time you get there. Seems like people in the know take food and use the BBQ's provided. Other issue is the fact there's only 1 shower in the mens changing room which seems crazy for a place this size, and the facilities look like they haven't been touched in 30 years. Overall it's OK for a every now and again stop off but I find it pretty expensive for what it is I wouldn't rush back.
Andy - Auckland
21th March 2016
62
Rating: 1/10
We located via GPS. Unfortunately, it appears that both the spring and the creak leading to it are now dried up. We could smell Sulfur and hear thermal vents. Feb 2016
Tim - Christchurch, NZ
28th February 2016
63
Rating: -/10
Totally disgusted turned up at 10am their opening time place was still locked up at 10.12am someone turned up finally at 10.20am gates were opened and ooopps no concideration given to disabled patrons i was confronted with a ramp but it had a sloping step so high the wheelchair had to be man handled over it causing me great pain THEN the only staff there when asked about disabled facilities gave a very off handed comment that none were available and basically he couldnt give a stuff altho when i rung and asked prior to going was told no problems for disabled patrons BUT get to changing rooms had quite a few steps to get up to them i was told you have 5 able bodied people they can lift you up this man was so rude and patronising with his comments i it was evident i was not welcome here and infact got the feeling we had interrupted his day so asked for my money back and got told no also i mite add the pools looked bloody filthy and dirty in poor condition NOW the reason for my disability is i am a chemo patient as have lynphoma bone cancer and have a fractured hip causing great pain so is impractical to lift me WOULD NOT RECOMMEND anyone wasting their time going there we ended up going across the road to PARAKAI SPRINGS they were absolutely awesome and when i explained wat had happened they even gave me a discount
jo geldard - AUCKLAND
28th February 2016
64
Rating: -/10
Lets hope that a more customer focussed regime comes with the re opening. I too found the management and staff appalling to deal with. I stopped going (had been a regular customer) before it was forced to close as I found the customer service/attitude appalling. You'll get another chance from me but it will be the last. Much prefer Te Aroha or even better Morere between Gisborne and Napier
Weka - Hamilton
09th March 2016
65
Rating: 7/10
The club has awesome facilities and a great natural setting beside the lake but the people who administer the place are not very open and tolerant. For naturists, you think they would be more embracing and educational of the benefits of naturism. I found it the opposite with them bring very defensive and close minded. It's a real shame because it could be a great role model for educating textiles of the benefits of naturism.
Bruce - New Zealand
06th March 2016
66
Rating: -/10
Lets hope that a more customer focussed regime comes with the re opening. I too found the management and staff appalling to deal with. I stopped going (had been a regular customer) before it was forced to close as I found the customer service/attitude appalling. You'll get another chance from me but it will be the last. Much prefer Te Aroha or even better Morere between Gisborne and Napier
Weka - Hamilton
09th March 2016
67
Rating: 2/10
Welcome to DisneyLand. Expensive, loud, you can't buy a tiket for a day, 22 dollars for one way, everything is about money. I have been in many hotsprings all around the world, This is the WORST experience and waste of time and money of my life. I talk with some kiwis about it. This thermal was good in the past but is now a tourist trap. ESCAPE
Jonathan - FRANCE
13th March 2016
68
Rating: 2/10
Welcome to DisneyLand. Expensive, loud, you can't buy a ticket for a day, 22 dollars for one way, everything is about money. I have been in many hotsprings all around the world, This is the WORST experience and waste of time and money of my life. I talk with some kiwis about it. This thermal was good in the past but is now a tourist trap. ESCAPE
Jonathan - FRANCE
13th March 2016
69
Rating: -/10
opened 2016. Two warm bath. Lot of sunflies. Beautiful view. To find, if you come from the south you will see a direction sign with a 'HOT' on. Parking Take care of the pool. Enjoy
Jonathan - FRANCE
13th March 2016
70
Rating: 8/10
Things are not good for access now. The second half of the track is very overgrown. DoC has padlocked the far access gate, but some enterprising person has cut a hole in the gate where you can squeeze through. However. beyond the gate the path is near impassable. There have been two major washouts and great care has to be taken to avoid tumbling into the river. This may be why DoC had padlocked the gate. Risking life and limb and hanging on to trees we managed to get across the washouts and on to the pools. All was as I remembered and had a very pleasant and uninterrupted soak. In view of the very hazardous path conditions now, I would urge that folks do not attempt to get to the pools. DoC is unlikely to repair the path, which will only get worse. Only the near pool was full, but was clear and pleasant. I enjoyed a long soak in the delicious hot water, taking in the view. Awesome! In view of the above this may have been my last visit.
Bernard - Bournemouth GB
15th March 2016
71
Rating: 6/10
I visited here in Late Feb 2016. On both occasions it was busy but not overly so. There was plenty of room and seemed to be a good turnover of bathers. Virtually all were european, with Germans mostly. Everyone I met was enjoying themselves but were tolerant and courteous to others. My wife loved it there. The stream is great and, as has been pointed out, you can find a temperature just right for anyone. I even saw one oldie sitting under the very hot top fall. Let downs? Rather a lot of rubbish left near the litter bins, and untethered dogs wandering where they were not welcome. The owners' calls of course having no effect. So be prepared for company but also be prepared for a very pleasant expewrience.
Bernard - Bournemouth GB
16th March 2016
72
Rating: 1/10
Asked at the counter if there was chlorine in the pools as I get horrendous rash from it ,girl on counter said no ,couldn't smell anything so had a quick swim . Had a shower when I got out .Had a rash starting before we even got back to our motel less than a block away ,spent the rest of my holiday treating rash and with excruciating itch ,sleeping under wet towels to relieve it . I don't think you should be making any claims about the benifit of hot salt water when it is chlorinated ,I expected them to be natural mineral salt pools that were emptied every day
Sharon - NZ
05th February 2016
73
Rating: 10/10
I was surprised how long my feet felt wonderful after paddling in the pool. I would recommend the pools to anybody and a nice place to chat with travellers.
Richard Fenn - Tauranga
07th February 2016
74
Rating: 1/10
Very run down, lots of pools but seemed very unsanitary. Left after 15 minutes and couldn't wait to get back to the motel to take a soapy shower.
Sandy - Forks, USA
14th February 2016
75
Rating: 10/10
An absolute delight. We stopped in for a dip on our way up North - such a relaxing break from driving. The staff were lovely, friendly and helpful. We spent 20 minutes in a private pool - we were given extra time on top of that as it was quiet but we didnt need it, 20 is perfect. We then spent another 10 in the large public pool. The facilities are a bit dated - but everything was so clean and well kept it didn't matter. And the towels we hired were new, clean and fluffy. Best $10 I've ever spent.
Doug - Australia
03th February 2016
76
Rating: -/10
Yay, they have now reopened :)
Pete -
03th February 2016
77
Rating: 1/10
Wow..$10 admission!!! Really disappointing..
Val -
29th January 2016
78
Rating: 10/10
Amazing place to visit in NZ.After speaking to local people I was surprised to know this place has great historical significance. Place lacks Lustre but is very natural. The pool water is heated naturaly with geothermal activities. Temp varies from 36 - 51 degree celcius. I could only go up to 45 degree celcius though. As it gets darker you feel a lot closer to the nature. You need to visit it once at least in your life time. I like to thank Diane for being patient with me in answering all my curiosity driven questions. It was an amazing experience and will definately go back again.
Mortgage Delivery Guy - Canada
28th January 2016
79
Rating: 1/10
Unfortunately the springs were not to what you would expect. One was closed for cleaning, which if it was anything like the one left open was in desperate need of it. One would expect algae with natural springs, one would not expect to lose sight of your feet within said algae. There was clearly a slip mat there once upon a time, no longer, and the one "safety rail" was rickety and would potentially cause more harm then good.
Not that pleased - New Zealand
07th January 2016
80
Rating: 2/10
The temperature of water is so low and is a good place for couples to kiss in the pool. I will never go there again
Fu -
01th January 2015
81
Rating: 10/10
Beautiful creek, HOT! good size pool dug out with a sandy bottom, longdrop toilet at the carpark, road has been re done so there are no potholes.
Hanmah - Waiouru New Zealand
22th December 2015
82
Rating: 6/10
It's alright, pools are cleanish, not hurtful on your eyes, good amount of pools, though the slides I noticed when you went down the water splashing hurts with the pressure. Pretty good, overall.
Charlotte - Auckland
07th December 2015
83
Rating: 10/10
This is a great site. particularly if you want a quiet few days. We came in late Spring; planned on staying one night: stayed for four. The site is rural, with a lovely stream/river to camp by, Bath-warm swimming pools, and pleasing bush walks. All the amenities clean and cared for, showers hot, It 's run by a family.and they could not have been more friendly and helpful. it is a pleasure to recommend them.
manuela mackenzie - UK
01th December 2015
84
Rating: 1/10
Was at the lake for a science field trip. The water was tested and a temperature of 40 degrees at least and a pH of 3. So not ideal at all for swimming.
charlotte - Hamilton
10th September 2015
85
Rating: -/10
Omarama is in North Otago,not the Mackenzie or Canterbury as some people think.If in doubt,ask a local.Information centres should atleast know where they are would be a good start.
Jimmy Courtney - OMARAMA
10th September 2015
86
Rating: 1/10
Wow what a HUGE DISSAPOINTMENT!!!!!!!!! Sapphire springs is a place my family and I have been staying for years, absolutely beautiful place! What a shame about the customer service we received on our last stay, SUE in particular. And I see in above comments her name has been mentioned a few times for the same thing. My partner and i and two of our close friends booked in for a nights stay, we were told upon arrival that there were no motels available, that they were all booked out and that the last one had been booked (after we were told we could have it) and we would have to be in two separate cabins (we thought this was odd as it was very quiet). We realised the cabins had no linen and had not brought our own, we were charged 40.00 for two people this included two pillows two single duvets and a towel each, no sheets and we couldn't have a double duvet for our double bed. The blankets and pillows were filthy and had what looked to be cat fur on them. I asked for a refund on these which we received. Later in the evening I decided to ring the logde up and see what motels/units they had available as there looked to be no one staying there, I was then told they did have motels available.when I confronted them about the situation ed seemed unsure of the situation and Sue stood there giving us evil looks until finally raising her voice at us with her baby in her arms justifing why she wouldn't let us have a motel room and how they were all booked out and who their priorities lie with. We were treated very poorly by the woman named Sue. We have been loyal customers at this park and we cannot understand why we were judged and denied a motel this way. Horrible experience. I would suggest if you are around the ages of 27-33 you will most likely get the third degree, also 3 of us have Maori blood I wonder if Sue is also a bit racist. So disappointing.
Nicole - Tauranga
12th September 2015
87
Rating: -/10
Trust me - there is no big source above the trickle. My son and I climbed up there a few years ago - very rugged country up there and a long climb/walk to get back down to the stream
Danny Jacobson - NZ
25th September 2015
88
Rating: 10/10
Ko kapa Magic te paru, te marino te wai, whakaora i wai, kaukau te paru, te rongo ki te whaiaro runga i te whenua... Ultimate but not submissive to the translations NgaWha is the best........!
Tina Hepburn - Australia
02th October 2015
89
Rating: 9/10
Tena koutou nga iwi, nga hapu nga whanui. I have been travelling to Gisborne and back to Taranaki for many years to surf. It takes 7 long hours, It is the perfect place to stop and refresh. When I jump back in the car I feel so gooood, happy to drive and alert again, The water, the water fall massage, the tiny massaging stones and mud that I wash my skin with makes this experience so good.. I hope the whanau make enough to make a good living,"Soda Springs, more than just a hotpool" kapai to mahi, Tika, te kaitiaki te taonga nga mihi nui
JM - Waitara
03th October 2015
90
Rating: 10/10
Book first as they are in demand. The pools were such a relief for my MS no doubt we will be back next time we get a holiday. thanks again to the friendly thoughtful staff. highly recommended to all.
Donna and Fraser Wright - Foxton Beach
06th October 2015
91
Rating: 1/10
!!!!! WE GOT ROBBED!!!!!!!!! RENTED TOURIST CARAVANS, CARS, CAMPERS ARE THEIR TARGET!!! Be warned about this place. While the attraction itself is amazing, local youths are mugging!!! Our campervan was broken into with crow bar and EVERYTHING was taken (passports, phones, go pros, all clothes, toiletries and backpacks/ suitcases). We hid everything under the seats as well because we were weary but these guys are pros. BE WARNED !!!!!
Katie - U.K.
17th October 2015
92
Rating: 1/10
If your from overseas like the big population countries this is one of the last places on earth to swim waste your money and very rude and racist people.
Mathew Benioni Lingman - Miami,Florida USA
27th October 2015
93
Rating: 6/10
Went about 6 months ago. The awful state of the potholed 'road' in spoils it for me (the worst public road I have been on in NZ, and I come from the South Island!). You should drive very carefully and slowly, I wouldn't risk taking a rental car down it for fear of 'bottoming out'. Not sure why that is (forestry wants to discourage the public from using it?). Pools themselves not bad. Unusual smell of the water takes a while getting used to. Plenty of space. Quite a nice variety of places to bath in and spread out (stream or beneath the waterfall).
Bren - Christchurch
27th October 2015
94
Rating: 9/10
This place is amazing. It's been 20 years since I last went here and what a treat to see it is still operating and for only $4! My body felt amazing after the 45minute session, and I slept the best sleep ever that night. I went at 8pm, the moon was shrouded in clouds, there was 1 other person, absolutely nothing like it. It's a good drive from Kerikeri. I would have given it a 10 if there were more road signs.
Kapai - Auckland
29th October 2015
95
Rating: 8/10
Went there in winter with constant rockfalls from the exposed cliff above. Walk through the river across to the other bank and there are several springs coming up out of the ground. Just take a shovel and be prepared to dig them out. Took 10 minutes and then we were able to enjoy them all day.
Sam - Christchurch
03th November 2015
96
Rating: 6/10
Ehhhh Pools boring unless you have a friend with you Spa is ok but wavey because people jump in Outdoor pool's pebble cut my toe last time Outdoor pool grubby Slide gets stuck sometimes but pretty good Food overpriced
Charlie -
13th November 2015
97
Rating: 10/10
I am posting this review to get a nice new one up on the top of the list, the previous post is of people that cant appreciate the place for what it is. They would rather post negative reviews lime that have nothing better to do with there lives. So what! there were nudists there when you went. Big deal! If you can't handle a little naked real life don't go there! The place is the most amazing place I the country in my opinion and im Not a nudist and yes I have been I the spas naked.. I'm not afraid of the human body.
Darin reid - Whangarei / Hawkes bay
17th November 2015
98
Rating: 9/10
We stopped there on a cycle ride from Chch to Nelson back in 1978.Then it was just a hotel and a concrete hot pool;the water was piped across the river from the actual spring on the right bank.You carried your jug of DB down to the pool'stuck it into the 6" of snow around the edge and dipped-for free.They even let us crash for the nite in the changing rooms. Sounds like times have changed.
gerry - enzed
20th November 2015
99
Rating: -/10
That's a great place! But now I'm just a bit scared because I saw the signe warning for amoebic meningistis after swimming in the river and holding my face under water:/ these bacterias destroy your brain, i hope you can calm me down a bit^^
Carina -
22th November 2015
100
Rating: 10/10
I love hot and cold so much but i hurt my self and it is 2015 it is so different now
Lilly Lilly - rotaroa
24th November 2015
Latest Photo
Onsen Hot Pools
Onsen by Lantern Light
Onsen Hot Pools
Onsen Hot Pools: Panoramic Views
Onsen Hot Pools
Onsen Hot Pools: Corner Shot