Latest 100 Hot Pool Reviews

1
Rating: 10/10
Just beautiful, I'm not sure what is wrong with children seeing naked bodies though, we all came that way? Surely hiding something only makes a child feel that there is something to be ashamed of?
Liz - napier
16th June 2017
2
Rating: 10/10
Who do you people think you are whineing and carrying on about the entry fee? Shameless!! This is a privately owned stream on privately owned land. The owners have every right to charge you for the privilige of its use. So you used to come here for free? Well lucky you but now you have to pay. Simple really get over it.
Monique - NZ
17th June 2017
3
Rating: 9/10
Great Spot, and amazing value for $4 a head for all of the pools. Can get a bit packed on weekends. Soaked in the 42 degree bulldog and was warm for days! It is a bit "simple" and there are no showers, so if you don't want to smell "Thermal" take that into consideration. I will frequent anytime I am within an hours drive for sure!
Dan - Auckland
06th June 2017
4
Rating: 8/10
Nice pool. easy to find. pitty i only had time for a brief foot warmer.
James Ivey - NZ
02th June 2017
5
Rating: 10/10
Waingaro Hot Springs is the best day out for the whole family. The owners and staff are so warm and welcoming. It burst with character, so relaxing and always clean. I feel so lucky to have this just half an hour away and great all year round what ever the weather!
Joni Mathieson - Raglan
29th May 2017
6
Rating: 9/10
A hotpools complex with plenty on offer. Four pools that are part of a holiday park and can be accessed independently. The 3 thermal pool range in temperature from 37-40 degrees. The complex has a well maintained retro feel. There are private pools available. Looking forward to visiting again and spreading the word about this hidden gem. A rural setting and close to Matamata.
Sheryldeen McCollum - Hamilton
07th May 2017
7
Rating: 10/10
Beautiful location, amazing atmosphere, perfect for couples and families, one of New Zealands hidden gems.
Jonathan Hester - Auckland New Zealand
19th April 2017
8
Rating: 10/10
Great place for a relaxing break.
Ross - NZ
18th April 2017
9
Rating: 10/10
Paradise on earth, it's a highlight of our family holiday every year. Beautiful and relaxing in the rain or in the evening and fun in the daytime heating up in the pools and sliding down the slide into the lake. It's always been immaculately clean every time we've been over the years and the managers are friendly.
Nicola - NZ
18th April 2017
10
Rating: 10/10
Great family atmosphere. Awesome for the kids to slide, bomb and wrestle on the pontoon. You know it's a good place when you struggle to find a spot to park your boat.
Adam - Hamilton
18th April 2017
11
Rating: 7/10
Not too bad, nice big rooms, but a bit worn out....
colin - Auckland
18th April 2017
12
Rating: 8/10
Very kind and friendly service, always happy to see you from year to year . its like seeing an old friend each year . quite and laid back . very cool spa pools with each room
Doug - Rothesay Bay
18th April 2017
13
Rating: 10/10
Awesome ripper of a place beautiful setting and very relaxing
Maurice - New zealand
18th April 2017
14
Rating: 10/10
Love going to these pools, such a lovely spot, so relaxing and great atmosphere!
Tarina MacKay - Auckland
18th April 2017
15
Rating: 10/10
There's nothing better than soaking in these hot pools! Options of different pool temps is a really nice feature and I really like that every pool is emptied, cleaned and refilled every day. My family holidays at Lake Rotoiti almost every summer and they all love going to the pools, there's enough to keep all age groups happy. There's plenty of easy access boat parking and change room and toilet facilities and a snack bar! I can't wait to go back!
Tracey - Auckland
18th April 2017
16
Rating: 10/10
Have been to Lake Rotoiti for summer holidays 7yrs in a row, and my highlight of my holidays are going to these hot pools, love going for a refreshing swim in the lake then hopping straight into the pools.
Paula Johnson - Hamilton
18th April 2017
17
Rating: 10/10
This place is a real gem. Won't find a better place in NZ to relax and take in the scenery.
Bryan - Auckland
18th April 2017
18
Rating: 10/10
One of NZ's best hidden paradise's !
Brad - NZ
18th April 2017
19
Rating: 10/10
Love it, perfect for relaxing in after wakeboarding and dinner
Jason - Auckland NZ
18th April 2017
20
Rating: 5/10
Bit of hike but a nice spot
Paul - NZ
18th April 2017
21
Rating: 2/10
I have been here many times over the years and often stopped en-route to or from Christchurch but in January called to find new owners and new prices, $40 per person. No more visits at that price.
Kerry-Jayne - West Coast
16th April 2017
22
Rating: 10/10
I remember wen I was between 6and 8 about 20 years ago my mum and dad use to take all us kids here wen you couldn't get there through spa park u had to go down spa rd and turn onto a gravel road just before you hit the car park at spa park. And we would come to a locked gate were we would leave our car and walk a short distance to the hotspot and river back then we would leave our car fully open and there was no worries at about theives. There was never anyone else there wen we went there we were always the only ones there i think there was one time we were there and another maori family arrived we made some awesome mates that day lol.we use to go there almost everyday. I also remember the nxt time we returned the gate was open so we could drive straight up to the river and after that my dad put his padlock on the gate and for years his lock remained on that gate. it was so beautiful there so peaceful and relaxing but also so much fun for us kids because of the river we would go up the river and float back down to the hot spot. We use to dive in dunk our heads under even wen the signs said not to lol but hay nothing ever happen to any of us. This was my favorite place it the world it felt like it was our own lol piece of waikato river. I recently went back home to taupo and visited this place and was so disappointed because of the lack of care people have for it it is way too over populated and people don't clean up after themselves and leave rubbish laying around and local theives r a big let down too as it all ruins the beautiful atmosphere it can give you. I am just so glad I got to experience this beautiful part of nature wen it was unknown and we always had it to ourselves. 😄😁
Ngardz - Perth
24th March 2017
23
Rating: 9/10
Always enjoy coming here, place is always tidy and in a good state of repair. Pools themselves are clean, I enjoy the bigger thermal pool mostly as the smaller one is a tad too hot (others may like this) Only issue is the $22 fee for adults to get in is rather excessive.
Carl - Lower Hutt
20th March 2017
24
Rating: 6/10
Place feels a bit dated and needs some TLC. Main pool had some foliage in it from the bamboo alongside the pool. The 1.2m Geothermal pool needs a fresh coat of plaster as the water has eaten away at it over time, ground in it is a little rough. The Hotter pool is a bit too shallow but nice and warm. Access to the pools will be tricky if you have a disability as there are some steps and steep path. Water itself is nice and warm, can't smell anything like sulphur. Signs around the pool do note it is filtered. Overall the place would be great if a bit of money was spent on the place.
Carl - Lower Hutt
15th March 2017
25
Rating: 9/10
Nice, comfortable, lovely quiet place to stay. Hot pool is very relaxing. Definitely be back!
Tatanera -
31th January 2017
26
Rating: 8/10
Wonderful place to visit after a rainy hike on Ruapehu. Great price, friendly and helpful staff, and soothing water. We had 20 minutes in the private pools which was enough because of the heat. The public pool felt great after that. The only shower facilities are a couple of cold poolside ones, but it does the job.
Jo - UK
09th February 2017
27
Rating: 2/10
When I arrived I asked what time they close. I was told 9pm. I asked would we have 5 min to ba able to change. No problem was the answer even if we stayed longer it would not be a problem. There is a clock however not enough light to see it from the other side of the pool late at night. Then suddenly the lights went off. I ended up hurting myself in the dark as a result I have a light concussion and whiplash. Saddest thing is not even a sorry from the owner as we should know what the time is. I had overseas guest with me and they are both fire officers. They thought it was rather strange the pool was not checked if it was empty. We have been visiting there for 40 years although not regularly lately however this attitude I have never experienced before. The middle pool needs some maintenence also.
Marjo - Lichfield New Zealand
15th February 2017
28
Rating: 10/10
What New Zealand is all about.
Mrs SF - Auckland
23th February 2017
29
Rating: 10/10
Used the private pool service and found that very relaxing. The staff led by Phil and Tina Smith are very friendly and helpful. The walk around the woodland thermal pools is free, very interesting and and well worth the effort. Would recommend anyone to go there. It may need some TLC but it is clean and well maintained. Well worth the $10 each.
John Harrison - Gloucester UK
26th January 2017
30
Rating: 1/10
Massive slip decimates Sylvia Flats Hot Springs, Lewis Pass: 20th January 2017 The famous Sylvia Flats natural thermal hot springs that has been a secret haven for locals and their friends for years, has disappeared following a massive landslip in the advent of the torrential rainfalls on the West Coast on 20th January 2017. The Lewis Pass region is host to numerous natural thermal waters, many in remote locations accessible only on foot. Sylvia Flats is located alongside the Lewis River, 20 kms past the Maruia Springs thermal resort. The weekend's downpour triggered a slip on the side of the highway, completely burying the geothermal pools. The access track from the car park has also completely collapsed . A DOC warning sign has long warned thermal bathers to not use the pools and be mindful of rockfalls, however has not deterred visitors to experience the wonder of the natural geothermal pools, that usually reach 40 degrees.
Michael Moore - Christchurch, New Zealand
22th January 2017
31
Rating: 10/10
We found the Secret Spot today at circa 4.00pm, (I suppose not so secret now given all of the reviews). We had a fantastic time and it was free, it was not crowded, the area was clean and only one discarded bottle was found, no broken glass was found in the area. Everybody was friendly and in a good frame of mind. It was textile bathing today which is fine as would skinny if that had been the majority mode of bathing. There are good wooden steps and railings to the stream which added to the experience and if they were provided and maintained by DOC then thanks. But whoever did this its a job well done. I will return when we are next in the area and would recommend it to others
Tim - UK
09th January 2017
32
Rating: 1/10
We booked a private pool online via bookme.nz the day before and received confirmation of our booking within the hour. Unfortunately, the following afternoon we turned up 30minutes before our allotted time of 2.30pm and were told that the private pools were fully booked! The woman at reception responded as if this was our fault for not double checking if our booking still stood, despite us producing the confirmation letter and the fact the money had been taken from us. Apparently nobody had checked 'the system' since the day before and so our booking did not go through, it would have been nice to have received warning of this via phonecall or email before making our way to the hot pools. We were very disappointed when we arrived to be turned away in this manner, as we had planned our day around this activity.
Nick - Australia
05th January 2017
33
Rating: 10/10
Beautiful emerald lake, temp like a warm bath, swam about three meters out. Nobody around. What a delight!
Amelia - Nz
02th January 2017
34
Rating: 2/10
Its definitely pretty and easy to find, but there is a huge government warning sign next to the pool because of Meningitis amebas, which by the way at 100% fatal if contracted. The sign advises to keep the water out of your noise, but is it really worth the risk? Also the entire trail leading up to pool is covered in used toilet paper. Ew.
Andrew C - Pleasanton, USA
01th January 2016
35
Rating: 5/10
Um I don't know what to say it was half and half the water slides were amazing I would recommend that but the pools are disgusting 😭😭😭
Marco - Italy
23th December 2016
36
Rating: 1/10
This place is a bad advertisement for an Kiwi Holiday Park. We had some Canadians staying next to us and they were concerned that all Holiday Parks in NZ were as bad as Golden Springs. The place is untidy and mostly unkept. Our room had leaking guttering over the entrance, maintenance required everywhere you look. I don't say this easily but the place is a dump. Some of the caravan and tent sites looked ok. I would never recommend Golden Springs and the review average score they have from the online booking site I used to book must be rigged. In order to run a Holiday Park you have to pay attention to the grounds and buildings, not sit behind a computer.
Scott - New Zealand
28th November 2016
37
Rating: 1/10
Really annoyed (and I am sure I am not alone here as a lot of other people were turning up when we did) that when we arrived at 7pm on Saturday night with a birthday girl and friends for a swim to be informed that they were closing early for a staff Christmas function!! No notice on door, or website or anywhere else I could find. So disappointing :(
Kerry - Mount Maunganui
26th November 2016
38
Rating: 9/10
We visit this place every summer. This year in March is was unbearably HOT, too hot for the children to enjoy. At the time I wondered whether the temperature was connected to geothermal activity in the area. Has anyone been recently given the slew of earthquakes?
Maren Williams - New Zealand
27th November 2016
39
Rating: 5/10
My wife and myself have been coming to waiwera since we were kids we are now in our early 50s so I feel we are able to comment on the pools . It was the place to go when we were young everything was new and exciting but it is in a very worn out state now the tubes were awesome but they no longer exist and that's so sad.also the camp grounds no longer exist that was a cool place to stay the hotel was knocked down a few years back now it's just vacant land its just so sad to see a NZ icon going down hill so fast .the locals keep the place propped up but since the freeway went through its a ghost town.this unfortunately is a sign of the times no money no people no business.we still go to waiwera but we don't go to the pools anymore we choose to stay at the coach trail lodge which has its own pools .love waiwera but it's like watching someone slowly die very sad indeed.
Lisa and Jim Palmer - Whangarei
21th November 2016
40
Rating: 1/10
wow.rude owners.long way to access with the crapist food,service and over all experience.go to the aroha.
bather - hamilton
28th October 2016
41
Rating: 9/10
Awesome place to visit alone, with friends or Whaanau. Clears away the aches and pains
marina pouesi - Aotearoa nz
19th October 2016
42
Rating: 6/10
Check the tide heights as well as the times. We tried on a midday tide with a predicted low of 1.1m, but after 11am the hot spot we could feel under the sand was still knee-deep.
Dennis - Australia
12th October 2016
43
Rating: 10/10
Love these pools, the camping ground and the meals served in the cafe.
Maureen - NZ
02th October 2016
44
Rating: 10/10
Kia Ora Marilyn & Knox Thankyou so much for your tautoko to us whilst we were there to attend our Aunty's Tangi at Tikapa (21-22 Sept 2016) and for your kindness providing transport for us - this we will not forget. We look forward to coming back. Nga Mihi - Arohanui Hana, Laurayne, and Lawrence (Skipper/Konia Whanau)
Laurayne Mariu - Wellington
27th September 2016
45
Rating: 10/10
Loved this place! It was quiet, peaceful and just off the beaten track. Went here early in the morning (about 8:30 am) and practically had the place to ourselves apart from one local lady who was very informative about the springs and its healing properties. Kids loved it as it wasn't too deep. So much more authentic than many of the commercial operations back in town. Really affordable for a family of five. Highly recommend the Soda Springs.
Joanna - Melbourne
24th September 2016
46
Rating: 10/10
What an amazing experience! My parents are in NZ for a visit and thought it would be good to do the tourist thing and delighted we went to Hell's Gate! Very informative and helpful staff members explained everything, we did the the walk, the mud and sulphar spa! Would definitely do it again.
Stefni - Auckland / South Africa / Saudi
16th September 2016
47
Rating: 7/10
I went a few times last year and really enjoyed the place. It's nice to see a pool complex for adults at Palm Springs with a relaxing environment to wind down and have an alcoholic beverage with out all the mayhem of yelling and screaming kids. Plam Springs targets the adult market segment which is great, that way they bring something unique to the their target audience. Ruckus families with kids can pop over the road, while us adults can be left in peace. Palm Springs number 1 fan.
Malcolm - Auckland
03th June 2016
48
Rating: 8/10
My partner and I went recently to the springs. First thing I would say is it is a bit pricey (over $30 if including the slide pass) especially as you only get really short "pass-outs" & can't leave for longer than 15 minutes at a time. The pools aren't really that hot except for the three sulfer pools at the top. Other than the first two points, the pools layout is awesome, the slides are awesome, the facilities are modern and first class & the staff are pretty good at not letting you put your head under water :P I'd go again, but I'd try other ones first.
Nicholas Wisniewski - Ashburton
08th June 2016
49
Rating: 10/10
The BEST hot springs. Have been coming to the pools since approx.1954. Cant get enough of the soaking and feeling so great afterwards.
Pam - New Zealand
14th June 2016
50
Rating: 1/10
NOT THERMAL HOTWATER! Pools are artificially heated and there is no mention of this. This listing should not be on this website; I thought this site was dedicated to thermal pools only?
Nick - Hastings
15th June 2016
51
Rating: -/10
This was a great place, ive been going there since like forever 1985, a little off the main road but was worth it, nice and open with no buildings, free for everyone as nature intended, so yeah not happy that this has become a money grabber, when ever i visited i would to do my bit to maintain the place, but last time i visited these buildings were there and they wanted a fee so i offered a donation which was refused, so have never gone again so sad really,should have been left alone, maybe a sign stating where you could leave a donation, this was free in open 24hrs a day now people dont know when its open 0/10
Kevy - NZ
19th June 2016
52
Rating: 10/10
Tokaanu Thermal pools has been my favourite for 20+ years , always stop there on my way north and back home if I can Love the place and it's old fashioned ambience , I recommend it to all my guests
Hilary - New Zealand
08th July 2016
53
Rating: 10/10
due to the disrepect by many back in the days, rubbish, broken bottles everywhere, in out and around the baths .. basically it almost went from a Nice Free Clean baths to a rubbish tip so owners decided to put a stop to it. The results is what you see now, lovely, clean maintained always. If one feels paying an entry is wrong, i suggest one goes elsewhere ..
mar - rotorua
14th July 2016
54
Rating: 9/10
I visited this fantastic pool often about 45 years ago and am now disappointed that it has become so well known and now being further ruined by DOC as the beauty of the secret pool was its natural nature and surrounding . I will not return to it now that has lost its charm. My friends and I often visited another secret hot pool in the area and on checking with my friend who still lives in the area I am told that it is still secret only known to a few locals and never put in a guide book or this site , it is this pool that I will visit soon .
J A Walker - North Canterbury
31th July 2016
55
Rating: 6/10
It should be noted that this is not on private land but you have to cross private land to get there , so stop at homestead and ask the nice people
Jeff - North Canterbury
31th July 2016
56
Rating: 9/10
Great place to be here, had an awesome time with my family. Will be dying to come back here. Also the staff was really nice and well behaved.
ritesh - india
05th September 2016
57
Rating: 6/10
It should be noted that this is not on private land but you have to cross private land to get there , so stop at homestead and ask the nice people
Jeff - North Canterbury
31th July 2016
58
Rating: 10/10
Lovely spot. Brought a party of 23 (West Auckland Tramping club). Stayed the weekend Holiday Park. Everything was spotless. Hosts very welcoming. Excellent value for money. Highly recommend.
PETER TUOHY - Auckland
11th August 2016
59
Rating: 6/10
Good and bad: Good: Great that they are open again. Apart from a few new coats of pain and fences, it's much the same as before. Which is ok by me because I loved soaking in the hot water looking up at the mountains. Bad: We hired a private spa only to find out that the bubbles weren't working. (You pay 40 bucks for a spa, you expect to get bubbles not just a private hot pool with a view of some gorse) The attendent was a lovely guy and went to get help immediately. Someone returned every few minutes telling us the problem was being looked into. Then after 15 minutes nothing. We sat there in the tub for a further 30 minutes without the problem being solved. After waiting long enough we gave up and went back to the main pools. My partner later when to Chood Singh up at the office for a refund and he got very irate. His manner was very intimidating. He only agreed to refund the amount after my partner threatened to go to Consumer Affairs. Despite the unprofessional management I still love Waingaro Springs. Have been going there since I was a kid in the 70s. I may have trouble convincing my partner to agree to come back again though.
80sfan - New Zealand
11th August 2016
60
Rating: 9/10
Exactly where you think it is. Turn off on Waiotapu loop, and park at the creek bridge. Either side of the bridge is hotter or cooler, literally walk the stairs down right into the welcoming water. We came in August and tremendously enjoyed the hot stream, the cool moonlit night, and the amazing local hospitality! Shout out to the snowboarders Josh and Caleb from Whangarei! :D P.S. Only a 9/10 because of that damn feral cat!
Jason - Duluth, MN USA
13th August 2016
61
Rating: 2/10
Closing the cafe at 7pm on a Friday night and telling a single mum with a party of four pre teen girls their only option was to go over the road to the pub for snacks! That is bad!! Waiwera thermal resort your operation is dilapidated, overpriced and broken and you don't deserve access to our natural resource.
Mark -
19th August 2016
62
Rating: 9/10
My family stayed there for 1 week awhile ago. Safe and clean both pools and camping area. I found the owner to be so helpful and we are maori and poly and all good for us. Sad if others didnt have the same experience.
Frankie young - Manawatu
20th August 2016
63
Rating: 3/10
Clean which is nice but didnt like the staff taking about - a 'Fat blob' of a woman in the pool that would empty out alot of water when she gets in. We were shocked. How dare they talk about customers like that cause they didnt think we could hear. Hate to think what else they say about other unaware customers. Ruined it. Our family wont return.
Frank Young - Titahi Bay
24th August 2016
64
Rating: -/10
I was just passing by so wanted to stop and see The place, but was unable to enter from the Te kopia Rd, as there were closed gates everywhere with lot of signs, that the places are under surveillance and trespassers will be prosecuted :-( . So nudists probably do not want companions :-D .
Tomas - Slovakia
25th May 2016
65
Rating: 7/10
We went there last month, the young lady who took our admittance was pleasant and helpful, pointed out where we could park in the shade so our dogs wouldn't get over heated in the car. The pools and buildings are old but appear to have had quite a lot of painting done of late, were clean and tidy, and the water temperatures were nice at 32 deg in the main pool and 40 in the hot smaller pool. It was not the fanciest, and their little shop is pretty bare but we enjoyed our afternoon there. Reading through the other reviews, I think we had a better experience than some, but I can see that some investment to make improvements might be a good thing.
John Welsford - New Zealand
16th May 2016
66
Rating: -/10

Does not exist. Is just a myth


billy - auckland
05th May 2016
67
Rating: 10/10
We have been a fan of these pools for a while, but the new management has turned a great pool to a truly fantastic venue. The private pools where the cleanest and nicest we have seen them and the team where just lovely to deal with! Well worth us getting a babysitter for!
Jenny - Tauranga
03th May 2016
68
Rating: 10/10
We have been a fan of these pools for a while, but the new management has turned a great pool to a truly fantastic venue. The private pools where the cleanest and nicest we have seen them and the team where just lovely to deal with! Well worth us getting a babysitter for!
Jenny - Tauranga
03th May 2016
69
Rating: 3/10
Overpriced. Will not go back. Since the drowning have put up prices excessively. This is not a Polynesian Spa and can not justify such high prices. Was a regular visitor not now .
Mike - Auckland
01th May 2016
70
Rating: -/10
The map is wrong is showing Wanganui northland is on west coast south island
Steve patrick - Tapanui 9522
19th October 2015
71
Rating: 10/10
Had a lovely, short get-away at the Okoroire Host Springs Hotel. The heritage rooms at the hotel are lovingly restored, comfortable and very spacious. Over the past 18 months a lot of work appears to have been put into the hotel and its surroundings. The hot pools truly are a hidden gem! Enchanting, mesmerising and in a beautiful, private environment, surrounded by lush green bush and Waimakariri River, they truly deserve the name fairy pool. The fairy pool with its sandy bottom was built in 1887, and was New Zealand's first concrete pool apparently. A lot of work has happened, and still is happening, around the pools, and are surely worth a visit and a stay at the hotel (under new ownership).
Tatjana - Waimauku
29th April 2016
72
Rating: -/10
Dropped passed to see these old historic pools. DOC have cut the baths up now so that they will not hold water at all. A shame to see that these pools have been abandoned. Would be a great project to see them rebuilt.
Sika Stag - New Zealand
27th April 2016
73
Rating: 1/10
My family and I 4 generations in all have been coming here as regulars for well over 30 years. That sadly has come to an end. Drove over an hour to get there and was told that they no longer except children. Tried to call after 2pm but no one answered the phone. Answer phone did not mention anything about no children. Read some pretty disturbing reviews including a naked night that was done there. Nothing wholesome about the place anymore. You may pump alot of money into trying to make it look good on the outside but the filth lingers on the inside. Guy working on the desk said HE was sad to turn people away and Blamed the new owners for the decision. This will be thier own undoing.
Pissed off regular for over 30 yra - NZ
08th April 2016
74
Rating: 10/10
Being a descendant of Tahu Matua , and a member of the trust , all we want to see is the preservation and protection of this beautiful place for future generations to enjoy . me and my kids come here most Saturdays, after rugby , to heal up!!!
Local - Ohaki
07th April 2016
75
Rating: 7/10

Went their for a soak with my wife for my Birthday and really enjoyed it nice and peaceful environment and I can see the potential in the place and the new owners are trying to lift the overall standard.looking forward to visiting next time.
Lisa and Jim Palmer - whangarei
11th April 2016
76
Rating: -/10
Do they still have the nude nights here? I. Went a couple of times and it was quite popular.
Ric -
20th April 2016
77
Rating: 10/10
It's a really nice place, if you are up to relaxation and great service. No little kids running around with that noise and mess that follows them. The temperature is great - I love a hot bath - just ask for directions, staff is very helpful. Alan is an amazing host, devoted to the A+ service (and has a beautiful nose, too:) )
Tatiana - Auckland
03th April 2016
78
Rating: 4/10
Warm but stagnant water now not very deep at all. Slim and silt in it
David Perry - Queenstown
22th March 2016
79
Rating: 1/10
Awful and heart-breaking for a little boy. It was Easter Sunday and so before going I checked the website and I rang to enquire if the place was open and till what time. I was told that it was all good and the place was open till 10 pm. My 5-year old son had spent the whole afternoon planning his time at the pools where he had been twice before and even convinced grand-dad and grand-mom to come along with him. We drove for 40 mins (no small journey for a 5-year old) and excitedly ran, swimming hoop in hand, towards the entrance to only find out that we would not be let in as the policy had changed to “adults only”. Before my son had realized that, I tried to explain to the person at the front desk that we had come here before and my son had been looking forward to coming back for weeks and he would be devastated to be turned away right here at the doors in front of the pools. We were, however, not let in (and there was hardly anyone in the pools anyways). It was absolutely devastating for my son, he burst in tears there and then and cried all the way home. We were not informed of the policy change when we rang and it was not stated clearly on the website. All this despite the policy having changed only a few weeks before. I was left quite disgusted with the management of the whole situation. We are never going again, kids or no kids, and so are all our friends and colleagues.
Denis - Auckland
27th March 2016
80
Rating: -/10
Hope your open in June cause I've heard so much about this spot...totally looking forward to a nice hot springs soak on our 2nd day back on home soil
Meadz - Brisbane Australia
27th March 2016
81
Rating: 9/10
I love Palm Springs since it has been sold. The new owners are actually putting money into the business to make it cleaner and more pleasing to the eye and the facilities are spruced up really nicely. Such pity that we cannot take our baby girl back there for a dip, she loved it. Too many parents would come and let their children swim without their supervision, so I understand why the owners have now changed admittance to 18yrs and over only. Keep up the good work owners, Really love what you are doing with Palm Springs.
Carolyn - Swanson, AKL, NZ
28th March 2016
82
Rating: 9/10
So lovely to find a heated spring that was not just a swimming pool. Lovely natural surrounds, peaceful (only 3 others there), friendly host, inexpensive and just out of Rotorua. Would recommend to anyone.
Cheryl - Q'ld Australia
01th April 2016
83
Rating: 6/10
Stop off here occasionally on the way back from the Corromandel if we get on the road early enough. Not the most exciting of places but the kids like it. They like the bouncy pillow - if they get a chance to go on it when there's not a bunch of boys fighting each other on it (they're girls 4 & 6). They just need to wait for a gap no dramas there. Main issue I have is that I've been there twice on a Sunday evening, and both times the food shop has been closed. We're there around dinner time on the way home it's super frustrating as we want to get the kids some dinner. The Kaiaua fish and chip shop is about 10 mins up the road if you phone in your order it'll be ready by time you get there. Seems like people in the know take food and use the BBQ's provided. Other issue is the fact there's only 1 shower in the mens changing room which seems crazy for a place this size, and the facilities look like they haven't been touched in 30 years. Overall it's OK for a every now and again stop off but I find it pretty expensive for what it is I wouldn't rush back.
Andy - Auckland
21th March 2016
84
Rating: 1/10
We located via GPS. Unfortunately, it appears that both the spring and the creak leading to it are now dried up. We could smell Sulfur and hear thermal vents. Feb 2016
Tim - Christchurch, NZ
28th February 2016
85
Rating: -/10
Totally disgusted turned up at 10am their opening time place was still locked up at 10.12am someone turned up finally at 10.20am gates were opened and ooopps no concideration given to disabled patrons i was confronted with a ramp but it had a sloping step so high the wheelchair had to be man handled over it causing me great pain THEN the only staff there when asked about disabled facilities gave a very off handed comment that none were available and basically he couldnt give a stuff altho when i rung and asked prior to going was told no problems for disabled patrons BUT get to changing rooms had quite a few steps to get up to them i was told you have 5 able bodied people they can lift you up this man was so rude and patronising with his comments i it was evident i was not welcome here and infact got the feeling we had interrupted his day so asked for my money back and got told no also i mite add the pools looked bloody filthy and dirty in poor condition NOW the reason for my disability is i am a chemo patient as have lynphoma bone cancer and have a fractured hip causing great pain so is impractical to lift me WOULD NOT RECOMMEND anyone wasting their time going there we ended up going across the road to PARAKAI SPRINGS they were absolutely awesome and when i explained wat had happened they even gave me a discount
jo geldard - AUCKLAND
28th February 2016
86
Rating: -/10
Lets hope that a more customer focussed regime comes with the re opening. I too found the management and staff appalling to deal with. I stopped going (had been a regular customer) before it was forced to close as I found the customer service/attitude appalling. You'll get another chance from me but it will be the last. Much prefer Te Aroha or even better Morere between Gisborne and Napier
Weka - Hamilton
09th March 2016
87
Rating: 7/10
The club has awesome facilities and a great natural setting beside the lake but the people who administer the place are not very open and tolerant. For naturists, you think they would be more embracing and educational of the benefits of naturism. I found it the opposite with them bring very defensive and close minded. It's a real shame because it could be a great role model for educating textiles of the benefits of naturism.
Bruce - New Zealand
06th March 2016
88
Rating: -/10
Lets hope that a more customer focussed regime comes with the re opening. I too found the management and staff appalling to deal with. I stopped going (had been a regular customer) before it was forced to close as I found the customer service/attitude appalling. You'll get another chance from me but it will be the last. Much prefer Te Aroha or even better Morere between Gisborne and Napier
Weka - Hamilton
09th March 2016
89
Rating: 2/10
Welcome to DisneyLand. Expensive, loud, you can't buy a tiket for a day, 22 dollars for one way, everything is about money. I have been in many hotsprings all around the world, This is the WORST experience and waste of time and money of my life. I talk with some kiwis about it. This thermal was good in the past but is now a tourist trap. ESCAPE
Jonathan - FRANCE
13th March 2016
90
Rating: 2/10
Welcome to DisneyLand. Expensive, loud, you can't buy a ticket for a day, 22 dollars for one way, everything is about money. I have been in many hotsprings all around the world, This is the WORST experience and waste of time and money of my life. I talk with some kiwis about it. This thermal was good in the past but is now a tourist trap. ESCAPE
Jonathan - FRANCE
13th March 2016
91
Rating: -/10
opened 2016. Two warm bath. Lot of sunflies. Beautiful view. To find, if you come from the south you will see a direction sign with a 'HOT' on. Parking Take care of the pool. Enjoy
Jonathan - FRANCE
13th March 2016
92
Rating: 8/10
Things are not good for access now. The second half of the track is very overgrown. DoC has padlocked the far access gate, but some enterprising person has cut a hole in the gate where you can squeeze through. However. beyond the gate the path is near impassable. There have been two major washouts and great care has to be taken to avoid tumbling into the river. This may be why DoC had padlocked the gate. Risking life and limb and hanging on to trees we managed to get across the washouts and on to the pools. All was as I remembered and had a very pleasant and uninterrupted soak. In view of the very hazardous path conditions now, I would urge that folks do not attempt to get to the pools. DoC is unlikely to repair the path, which will only get worse. Only the near pool was full, but was clear and pleasant. I enjoyed a long soak in the delicious hot water, taking in the view. Awesome! In view of the above this may have been my last visit.
Bernard - Bournemouth GB
15th March 2016
93
Rating: 6/10
I visited here in Late Feb 2016. On both occasions it was busy but not overly so. There was plenty of room and seemed to be a good turnover of bathers. Virtually all were european, with Germans mostly. Everyone I met was enjoying themselves but were tolerant and courteous to others. My wife loved it there. The stream is great and, as has been pointed out, you can find a temperature just right for anyone. I even saw one oldie sitting under the very hot top fall. Let downs? Rather a lot of rubbish left near the litter bins, and untethered dogs wandering where they were not welcome. The owners' calls of course having no effect. So be prepared for company but also be prepared for a very pleasant expewrience.
Bernard - Bournemouth GB
16th March 2016
94
Rating: 1/10
Asked at the counter if there was chlorine in the pools as I get horrendous rash from it ,girl on counter said no ,couldn't smell anything so had a quick swim . Had a shower when I got out .Had a rash starting before we even got back to our motel less than a block away ,spent the rest of my holiday treating rash and with excruciating itch ,sleeping under wet towels to relieve it . I don't think you should be making any claims about the benifit of hot salt water when it is chlorinated ,I expected them to be natural mineral salt pools that were emptied every day
Sharon - NZ
05th February 2016
95
Rating: 10/10
I was surprised how long my feet felt wonderful after paddling in the pool. I would recommend the pools to anybody and a nice place to chat with travellers.
Richard Fenn - Tauranga
07th February 2016
96
Rating: 1/10
Very run down, lots of pools but seemed very unsanitary. Left after 15 minutes and couldn't wait to get back to the motel to take a soapy shower.
Sandy - Forks, USA
14th February 2016
97
Rating: 10/10
An absolute delight. We stopped in for a dip on our way up North - such a relaxing break from driving. The staff were lovely, friendly and helpful. We spent 20 minutes in a private pool - we were given extra time on top of that as it was quiet but we didnt need it, 20 is perfect. We then spent another 10 in the large public pool. The facilities are a bit dated - but everything was so clean and well kept it didn't matter. And the towels we hired were new, clean and fluffy. Best $10 I've ever spent.
Doug - Australia
03th February 2016
98
Rating: -/10
Yay, they have now reopened :)
Pete -
03th February 2016
99
Rating: 1/10
Wow..$10 admission!!! Really disappointing..
Val -
29th January 2016
100
Rating: 10/10
Amazing place to visit in NZ.After speaking to local people I was surprised to know this place has great historical significance. Place lacks Lustre but is very natural. The pool water is heated naturaly with geothermal activities. Temp varies from 36 - 51 degree celcius. I could only go up to 45 degree celcius though. As it gets darker you feel a lot closer to the nature. You need to visit it once at least in your life time. I like to thank Diane for being patient with me in answering all my curiosity driven questions. It was an amazing experience and will definately go back again.
Mortgage Delivery Guy - Canada
28th January 2016
Latest Photo
Te Aroha Mineral Spas
Example of a mineral hot tub
Manupirua Thermal Springs
Awesome Photo’s of the latest editions to Lake Rotoiti Hot Pools (Manupirua Thermal Springs)
Onsen Hot Pools
Onsen by Lantern Light