Latest 100 Hot Pool Reviews

1
Rating: 8/10
No available to the public, only staying guests.
E Ala - NZ
06th August 2019
2
Rating: 10/10
Wow. What a view!! Set in a slice of paradise. Great set of pools that with different temperature. A nice place to relax with the family. It's a best kept secret. Wish we could drive there though.
Lisa S - Auckland
31th July 2019
3
Rating: 10/10
We stayed 3 hours until lights came on. Was so great to be able to drift seamlessly in & out of different temperatures as we needed to cool off. Staff wonderful & we took a few bottles of water home to remember.
Marina - Russia
17th July 2019
4
Rating: -/10
This used to be awesome but there are not hot pools there now as they lost permission to draw the thermal water.
Sadie - Wellington
08th July 2019
5
Rating: 10/10
Totally relaxing -.Best sleep ever too after that soak....Private Pool is the way to go. Great prices. Nice staff.
Ari - Auckland
16th July 2019
6
Rating: 1/10
This place is like stepping back into the 80s literally! The whole park is in desperate need of some serious maintenance. everything is rundown and looks bad. The entry prices are too high given the poor condition of the place. Don't waste your money here.
Paul - Tauranga
20th June 2019
7
Rating: 10/10
Fantastic! Lucky Kawerau having this facility for free,for everyone to use. Amazing ❤️
Sue & Lloyd Jones -
13th May 2019
8
Rating: 7/10
The last time I was at hot&cold (Jan2019) there was rubbish, beer bottles, human faeces, drunk people, an people doing drug deals on the side of the road. These pools are free of charge and people think they have free range to do whatever they please and treat it like a halfway **removed** crack stop. I am utterly disgusted that we let this **removed** happen. The only way this place will restore and hold its natural beauty is off it is closed off to the general public OR put a charge at the gate to cover costs of the **removed** that want to damage these taonga!!
Tangata Whenua - Reporoa
02th May 2019
9
Rating: 3/10
Have been going here for over 30 years... Its been a couple of years between soaks... The smelly short drop is defo better that people using the bush as a loo... But the number of rats was a bit gross... In the carpark and not scared of people.... Is one thing.. But when they join you in the pool for a swim is eeeekkkk it was a big bugger too.... Some trapping needed... Yes realise they are there cause of the food rubbish from all the humans, cause its now on the tourist map... The small pool is still my fab, water temp is fab, and the massage from the waterfall is great.... Just cull some rats....
Delene - Palmerston North
09th May 2019
10
Rating: 10/10
The young lady that attended to us Ally is just a gem so polite and friendly well worth the visit
Gaylene hill - New Plymouth
27th April 2019
11
Rating: 10/10
April 2019: This hot pool was absolutely incredible! Well worth the 3-4 hour walk in for sure. It was a bit cool when we got there and we dug it out a bit exposing the hot ground and when we came back after dinner the temperature was just perfect!! We put candles in jars around the pool and it was very romantic! One of the best things I've done in my life!
Christan long - Queenstowwn
22th April 2019
12
Rating: 1/10
nice place but all the locals ruin it by smoking and drinking to much. very over grown, very crowded and we saw a rat run along the bank when in the water. wouldn't want to see a couple nudist to show or take the wrong turn and go to the nudist camp instead of paradise.
jeff - nz
23th April 2019
13
Rating: 10/10
A bit of the beaten track - there is a short path through the bush from the road to the geyser to the pool - but thoroughly worth it. Much less crowded than Keroscene Creek and Hot 'n Cold, which meant we could finally ditch our togs and enjoy the pools properly.
Chris - Australia
30th March 2019
14
Rating: 10/10
I simply cannot believe I've been coming to Rotorua for so long and have not found this place. I arrived after dark to find the pool empty so stripped off my clothes and got in. An Indian couple who had just left promptly came back when they realised I wasn't a threat, followed shortly after they left by a Canadian dude and a chick from Melbourne and another couple of groups of locals. Was really cool chatting to them lying in the pool. I didnt notice if anyone else went nude and it didn't really bother me and no one either mentioned or seem to be to care about my lack of clothes. The pool itself was wonderful and easy to adjust the temp you had by moving closer or away from the heat. I can't comment on litter as it was only illuminated by the Stars and coukdnt see. It is a bloody amazing place and I will definitely be back and surprise my wife next time we are in Rotorua.
Ben - NZ
30th January 2019
15
Rating: 8/10
Really loved this pool. Peaceful green location, nice temperature, friendly staff. We were almost the only people there. Nice cafe and small play area with playhouse and sandpit.
Rose - Auckland, NZ
17th January 2019
16
Rating: 7/10
Almost didn't come here because of some of the other reviews, but actually it was totally fine, and we had a nice day here. Nice pools - one fairly hot, the others cooler. Lots of kids around (including ours) but no issues, person at the entrance was friendly.
Rose - Auckland, NZ
17th January 2019
17
Rating: 8/10
Really like these pools - been here a few times over the past few years. Possibly slightly pricey compared with some of the others, but they do have more facilities. The kids always enjoy coming here too.
Rose - Auckland, NZ
17th January 2019
18
Rating: 9/10
Me my wife and 8yr old son loved it, the private pool gave us all an enjoyable hot soak to the bones, 20min is perfect. Clean. My only suggestion to improve would be a quiter overflow level drain, to assist with relaxation. But not a deal breaker by any means. Thanks for the experience!
Brad - Brisbane
21th January 2019
19
Rating: 9/10
We are visiting from Australia and have enjoyed the hot springs now and previous visits 2 years ago . We love the natural surrounds and the peaceful location . The hot springs are so relaxing and the natural setting is great. A must when you are visiting Rotorua area.
Helen - Innisfail
22th December 2018
20
Rating: 10/10
My partner and I (and our 4 month old twins) stayed at Maruia hot spring for 3 nights at the end of 6 weeks travelling around NZ. We had an amazing stay, the staff are all lovely and very accommodating. We are big fans of natural baths and these are completely natural. They do have an algae that forms from the mixing of the thermal and cold springs but it feels great to rub on your skin and can apparently be eaten (like spirulina) so isn’t a problem. There are three different outdoor pools with varying temperatures and one indoor but all were around 39/40 degrees when we were there. The dry sauna and steam are great and the new Infrared sauna works really well. We started every day with an infrared sauna followed by jumping in the fresh cold water spring pool which we would thoroughly recommend before breakfast. All the food we had was excellent with a focus on being very healthy (fermented foods etc). We did the room/breakfast/dinner package and would recommend it as a treat! The one down side is that there are lots of sand flies but they give out a free oil that really works so they didn’t bother us and the babies didn’t get a single bite! If you fancy splashing out on a quality pool this one is highly recommended. On the opposite end my other favourite was ngawha springs in the north (also completely natural with lots of different muds).
Ruth - Brighton, UK
13th December 2018
21
Rating: 8/10
Visited the pools yesterday (28/11/18) and was not disappointed! There was one main pool, depth just below the knee and a good temperature. Some other pools have been dug, but there was no water in them. Rating would be 10, but the sand flies do make it hard to relax completely. Since visiting these pools 2 and a half years ago, there is now a sign at the first gate on the 4wd track saying no public access, and to use the marked DOC track instead. The gate was open, but I decided to leave the ute here and walk. I opted to walk up the river itself as I wanted to check if there was any hot water coming up where the old pool below the rocky terrace was (this pool is mentioned in some of the older reviews below), as when here last in 2016, that pool had been swallowed by the river. There were a few hot puddles, so a pool could likely be formed here (currently) with some digging. When returning, I walked back along the 4wd track and the gate at the bridge (Amethyst Ravine) was locked as a portion of the road has slipped away, so driving past the first open gate only would’ve saved about 10 mins of walking.
Michael - Christchurch
29th November 2018
22
Rating: 8/10
Clean private pool and public pool great since it has the spring water in it too and was at least 39C. Our skin was so soft afterwards. Cold showers okay for rinsing off but would like to see lukewarm showers at entrance for everyone to use before getting into pools. Price is fantastic, good value. The thermal walk was lovely with bird song, natural vegetation and many photo ops. Would go again if I could.
Dagmar Hughes - Campbell River Canada
15th November 2018
23
Rating: 8/10

I have been coming here since a kid. It's always had the little dam, don't know why people think this is new? Never had a problem with mozzies, probably happens sometimes though I guess. Water is always scummy, natural texture, sure beats non-natural pools. The iron/manganese can discolour your togs, it'll rinse out. $8 a swim sweet as. People have jobs. This is important, and they give you changing sheds and maintenance. Will always go back.


Kent - Rotoiti
03th November 2018
24
Rating: 10/10
Twelve months since my last visit....hobbled in with a badly sprained swollen ankle and after a healing soak in these ancestral waters I walked out pain free....would so love a healing soak today....will have to visit again very soon. Keep up the good work team!
Heather O - Blenheim NZ
16th October 2018
25
Rating: 9/10
Pros: We went to this spa because it offered a variety of options to choose from. We discussed options with an Indian girl at the reception who helped us choose the right option for my family of three. We took the option of $55 pp for unlimited time. The time in the pools was so great that our skin started to glow and my weak and achy knees started feeling strong and pain free. In this option we had the constant supply of towels and a range of temperatures to choose from. We moved from one pool to the other after spending about an hour in each. We took the cold plunges from the alkaline and acidic pools for detoxifying which really really worked for the three of us. I had swelling on my face and feet which just vanished after the bath. We completed all the alkaline first and the did the acidic pools returning to the 36 degrees pool to relax. In between we rested on the heated recliners to enjoy the gentle cold breeze and views. We felt very rejuvenated and relaxed that we went back the day after and did the exact same things. Cons: The staff didn’t bother giving us any directions on how to use the facility. I suppose this is because we knew it being from the same country. They shouldn’t assume that we know. Luckily for us I had done enough online reaserch to optimise our time. There is no onsite information about detoxification or the order of pools. If there is no order, then they should mention that as I heard everyone asking the same question. Some staff are very rude. But we didn’t care for what they are as they don’t matter to us. I think they have become rude after managing visitors from different cultures who may or may not comply easily. Pricey. Overall : This is a tourist place and I suppose such places don’t naturally thrive on customer care. If they did, then that will attract returners and recommended people. But to the customer I think expectations on service should be secondary in this place as the advantages of the geothermal pools both acidic and alkaline all in one place with the detoxifying cold plunges in unlimited time is definitely greater. We will certainly go back unless we could find a similar option elsewhere. I am giving them a 9/10 for the effects we received health wise from their facility and the option we chose.
Shree -
12th October 2018
26
Rating: -/10
Could no longer find the hot pools...would it be possible to re-dig? Such a shame.....Any way of locating the original source of water?
Edd - England
12th October 2018
27
Rating: 3/10
Not bad for a swim and that is all
Jeff - Napier
11th October 2018
28
Rating: 7/10
We stopped in for a quick soak. The three pools are basic but perfectly adequate; each one a different temperature. The changing rooms are rudimentary but you would more likely be staying in a motel unit so it would not be a bother. Would certainly consider staying there if in the area.
John Rogers - Auckland
07th October 2018
29
Rating: 8/10
A large pool in good surroundings. Facilities are good. Had a look at the private pools and would book one on the next visit. Such a good setting I would have done coffee and cake if available. Well worth a visit.
John Rogers - Auckland
07th October 2018
30
Rating: 8/10
This place is in the hidden gem category. The water was good, surrounding area and change rooms clean. Did not do the cafe but will next time round. It looked good. This pool is on my return visit list..
John - Auckland
05th October 2018
31
Rating: 10/10
Fantastic!! Ok so not your usual place on Hot Pools NZ but it is pretty cool. We had to book a room to stay though so you can’t just call in as it’s private property, but once in the pools are open 24/7 and we stayed in the Large pool having drinks until really late, the stars were out and it was amazing, in the morning we got up and enjoyed the amazing foggy tundra. I wouldn’t say it was cheap but we were the only ones there and saw no one not even staff! so for us pool lovers it was awesome and we will be back.
Mike Lovell - Auckland
03th October 2018
32
Rating: 1/10
Absolutely disgusting, watched a “life guard” using his cell phone while guarding the pool, what a disgrace you people have no clue what so ever
M Wellz - Nz
03th October 2018
33
Rating: 3/10
Went to Waingaro Hot Pools for the first time with my family today...The customer service was great, however the hot pool was disgusting with floaties the appeared to look like skin. There is not tuck shop as all pools have... The hydroslide was only turned on for approx 20 minutes then turned off again, so clearly the owners are "TIGHT" on money when we have just paid $6 each for a "DAY PASS". The concrete leading up to and flooring at the top of the hydroslide were slippery and full of Lycan which causes accidents when wet. Once our day had ended due to the hydroslide still being off and my son not being able to use it again, we went to have a nice shower to clean the pool gunk off...However the shower floor was slippery with sludge and the water is COLD AS HELL in the shower...Yet another TIGHT ASS way to take our money and skim on provisions... I hope the next owner cares about their customers more buy providing the service we are paying for buy not cutting costs to make profit off us and especially in regard to the many HEALTH & SAFETY issues the Waingaro Hot springs has. That aside Lovely staff.
Michelle Weir -
11th August 2018
34
Rating: 10/10
Absolutely love these pools, so relaxing and the perfect temperature. Always feel a million dollars after a dip. Highly recommended
Sally - New Zealand
18th July 2018
35
Rating: 1/10
What a dump. If we hadn't had to pay for accommodation in advance and the weather wasn't so foul we would have left. The accommodation was appalling... Dirty oven, had to wash dishes before using, one window in a room didn't close properly and there was a broken tile on the floor in the kitchen. It was just really run down and unkempt. Pools were nice but paid extra for the kids to go on the slide and they opened them for 15 minutes during the 2.5 hours we were there.
Julie - New Zealand
16th July 2018
36
Rating: -/10
This is a description of this one or the other one in the area from the 1800's http://rsnz.natlib.govt.nz/volume/rsnz_02/rsnz_02_00_002740.html
ij -
04th July 2018
37
Rating: 10/10
These pools are incredible,beautiful and smell just as they should! The staff is very friendly and there are so many options of diffferent temperatures for everyone from 55celcius to almost freezing cold. Going from the hot to cold pools is very good for your heart and helps your bones become stronger. Each pool has a different mud in it with its own unique minnerals to rub all over you that you have to wash off each time before entering the next pool. Unfortunately you have to wear clothes but still worth going. The review of the lady who fell on the not even step is completely ludicrous and the fact that she did not say anything to the employees but then wrote a negative review is just wrong. It was hers and is always your responsibility to look where you step ALL of the time EVERYWHERE. Be warned:() and even though I left no valuable belongings in the locker room someone 100% for certain went threw my things I left in my locker unlocked attempting to steal from us. Overall amazing and incredible experience just remember to lock your car and leave your valuables with the kind employees in the office:-)
Chandler Corbin - Lake Toxaway/ Wanaka
13th July 2018
38
Rating: -/10
This is a description of this one or the other one in the area from the 1800's http://rsnz.natlib.govt.nz/volume/rsnz_02/rsnz_02_00_002740.html
IJ -
04th July 2018
39
Rating: 10/10
Great memory of 1972 ....oh to be young again...on my way to cross the Copeland Pass , ice axe and crampons at the ready. Skinny dipping at night in the hot pools surrounded by mountains with a full moon and scudding clouds.....wow never to be forgotten.......happy days.
Peter Edgington - UK/Australia
24th June 2018
40
Rating: 1/10
Tried to find these pools despite 4 years old reviews but no luck. No signs of the pools or the big pool. Could someone prove me wrong?
Boris - Slovakia
28th May 2018
41
Rating: 8/10
Had a lovely time here today- we didnt spend the whole 20 mins as we didnt really need it. We were a little worried about going due to the comment about TLC being required- I have made a suggestion to remove this statement as it potentially puts off customers- personally I have seen much much worse! We didnt use the public pool as we were travelling home. My only suggestion for improvement is that it would be nice to have some sort of privacy screen for changing as not all couples wishing for a private pool may be comfortable changing in front of each other- new couples, groups of friends, for example.
julia scanlon - Te Awamutu
26th May 2018
42
Rating: 3/10
Small, muddy, a bit difficult to locate. Could only really soak our legs. Was nice after a long rainy day of tramping though. To access, give Gloriavale a call and let them know you'd like to tramp up the Haupiri. There is a DOC parking lot and signage. We actually came in from Lake Morgan and went out down the Haupiri, which was a 3 day loop.
Kevin Fraley - Alaska, USA
22th May 2018
43
Rating: 10/10
The total destruction of Sylvia Flats Hot Polls is now happening. Contractors arrived about Monday 7 May 2018 are are building a rock wall beside the river and a road along the cliff bottom. When finished there will be a placed rock wall dropping into the river with deep river water. This is being done to save the road above. There will never be hot water here again. The only hope of a pool will be crossing the river when it is low and exploring the other side, IF they leave the car park open. The other pools at the bush edge across the river were covered by the expanding shingle fan some years ago. All this is the result of the large slip in the head of the creak across from the car park. This slip has for years feed gravel into the Lewis river, keeping the river bed higher than normal. This gravel "wave" finished some years back and the river bed level drop up to 1000mm over the next few years. This led to erosion of the banks by the pools and the under cutting of the road cliff. The river "fall" that was 100m up stream of the pool is now at the pools and the river coarse is now toward the pools and the cliff. I visited the pools the night the first erosion of the cliff started. I have got video of trees and rock falling into the river. The bottom of the cliff is now some 10m closer to the road. This looks to be the end of the only road side free pool in the south island. I would like to add a photo of the digger that is there now. Owen
Owen Pearson - New Zealand
14th May 2018
44
Rating: 10/10
Since leaving Te Puia Springs as a 6 year old to move 62 years ago up North with our parents, my ,brother and I, with spouses, returned and stayed in the Te Puia Spring hotel as a bit of a pilgrimage . We are all thrilled to see the Hotel in such caring hands with restoring the now 100 year old beauty back to all its glory. The restoration thus far is fabulous. The welcome and friendliness was superb, the staff and owner were so hospitable and went beyond the norm with their hospitality .. the linens and beds and new fitting are modern and fit well with the era of the Hotel. A long soak in the mineral bath was just bliss and we all slept extremely well in lovely comfortable beds. We can’t wait to go back and stay. A beautiful old building. A unique Hotel. Learning that there is a takeaway at the dairy not a few minutes walk away from the Pub is a bonus. And of course. The fabulous beach a mere five to ten minutes drive away to Waipiro Bay. (We visited specially to see where our parents were married . At the lovely old church Waipiro Bay.). Thank you Zhu. And wishing you all the best with the project.
Raey Fulton - Tauranga NewZealand
07th May 2018
45
Rating: 10/10
after reading the reviews it totally surpassed expectations, the place is lovely! clean pools, Lovely staff, Highly Recommended , loved the short walk around the geothermal area and feeding the Trout off the bridge,, we loved it so much we went twice during our short stay..
ManyHawk & WhiteDove - New Zealand
03th May 2018
46
Rating: 10/10
Absolutely Fantastic! We biked in from St James Homestead, made a perfect day trip. Hot pools were super warm and in an awesome remote location. Would recommend to anybody and everybody.
Tom Robinson - Nelson New Zealand
01th May 2018
47
Rating: 10/10
Tokaanu hot pools were "the place to be" growing up in Turangi.. Mum (Lorraine) and dad (Ashley) would always take me there as often as possible.. I can't wait to visit next weekend and relive many childhood memories..
Shanna Wilson - Hamilton/New Zealand
28th April 2018
48
Rating: 10/10
Very good, very hot. Best spot is behind two large boulders in the dried up creek bed on the true right side of the island. Good campsite and two shovels provided. So hot you will need cold water out of the small creek to cool the pools.
Nick macbeth - Cheviot
25th April 2018
49
Rating: 8/10
I've been going to Waingaro since an infant. Yes it may be outdated compared to other wealthy Springs but in general it does the job I expect it to do. It's become neglected somewhat but doesn't change the fact that the water is why I'm there; relaxation temperature, hydrotherapy, peace and the childhood memories flashing by when I look at each area of the site. I love the loud laughable characters of the owners and the smiling humble staff, they have shown me no bias, ever and I'm Maori...in all honesty the owner will clock you, real loud, on the intercom if she has to because most times its needed. Be responsible and she won't call you out.
MeiMei - Hamilton
17th April 2018
50
Rating: 10/10
Went on a cruise on board the Pure Cruises catamaran in Lake Rotoiti and it was a lovely afternoon. The lake was beautifully peaceful and at one corner is a hidden gem - the Manupirua hot springs, accessible only by boat.
Marie - Australia
13th March 2018
51
Rating: 5/10
The spring by the car park opposite Mere Road is an interesting one. Although I'd been to Taupo on many occasions I had never seen this until a couple of years ago. This is strange considering how accessible the spring is. From the end of the car park walk along the lakeside path until you see the 'danger scalding water' sign. The spring comes out just below the path onto the beach, and people have made sand banks in order to form pools. Although the water is indeed scalding on exit, the pools are usually just pleasantly warm. This area used to have a natural feel, but recently large stones have been put in place to protect the lake edge. Many of these have been taken to make pool edges and the whole effect is somewhat scruffy as a result. Its still fun to sit on the natural rocks with your feet in lovely warm water.
Bernard - Bournemouth GB
30th March 2018
52
Rating: 9/10
We were there when the river was a bit high and struggled to dig enough of a pool to sit in... But there is a few billy's to shower with, and that alone is one of the nicest things I have ever done 2 days into a 5 day trip! There are blue triangles marking the route from Julia hut, shovels and billy's on top of a rock and Whio in the area.
Jonas - Wellington
02th April 2018
53
Rating: 7/10
My wife and I finally visited this hidden gem on 17 Feb. Thanks to PJWoods for the directions. We parked near the hole in the bushes and tramped to the falls along a slightly muddy track. No sign of litter or any other people. The water was very hot but bearable, but the muddy sand on the bottom was much too hot. Even though I was wearing jandals the mud would squidged over and burned my feet. Thus I stayed close to the edge as things got hotter as I tried to get to the fall. Great fun and lovely to have the place to ourselves. So peaceful. Long may it remain "secret".
Bernard - Bournemouth UK
05th March 2018
54
Rating: 9/10
Called in to try the Morere Hot Springs on our way to Gisborne. What an absolute delight! Not only a variety of hot pools but a temperate swimming pool and lovely bush walks. The hottest of the Nickau pools was a tad too hot for us but the middle one was great. We also paid the extra to have a private pool for 1/2 hour. What bliss! No need for togs and the water was beautifully hot. We sat and gazed out at the native trees and ferns. The water here at Morere is salty and has a faint tarry smell, unlike many pools with their sulphur smells. We enjoyed the visit so much that we went back 3 days later on our return from Gisborne.
Bernard - Bournemouth UK
04th March 2018
55
Rating: 8/10
This mini hot water beach is very nice and off the beaten track. It is easy to find and there is a carpark at the beach. A steep climb brings you to the top of the dunes with the beach spread out before you. For us, finding the hot area was easy: we just headed to the small group of people already there. Before long we had dug our own pool and settled back to enjoy. There were only about 6 families there and all were quietly enjoying the warm water. Much more peaceful and relaxing than its more famous twin on the Coromandel. We stayed until the tide came in.
Bernard - BournemouthUK
04th March 2018
56
Rating: 5/10
As we in the Wai O Tapu area we decided to visit kerosene creek again. We were saddened by what had become of the falls and pool. All generally scruffy and someone had put large stones across the stream to deepen the pool. It has lost its natural allure. Further upstream, halfway to the carpark things were better. There is a small waterfall and at this point a large part of the bank has been washed away leaving a flat stony area. This area has a gentle flow of warm water where you can sit, or go into the stream beneath the mini fall. This part of the creek is much less spoiled. I think kerosene creek is suffering from its popularity.
Bernard - Bournemouth UK
04th March 2018
57
Rating: 8/10
The pools downstream were better, one hot, one perfect one cold. We spent the day there, good 4x4 track, need low range and diff lock for a few spots. Get access to the combination lock for the gate through the DOC website. Register your car for the st james conservation park and they give you the combination, it changes every 2 weeks. The pools have been well made with concrete and rocks, however there are a few leaks if a volunteer wants to fix them. There are a few sandflies around, same as everywhere.
Sacha - Aus
27th February 2018
58
Rating: 10/10
Visited over the weekend. marvelous place. peaceful and tranquil. a real highlight
Martin - nz
28th February 2018
59
Rating: -/10
I went to Waingaro Hot Springs on Saturday the 24th of February 2018. I booked a spa for half an hour for $40. when I got their with my misses it seemed like the cripple lady their hadent prepared the spas. acccutually it looked like they were not in use. she then got the lifeguard to fill the spa from the hose and turn the spa tap on manually from spa and turn something on in the control room next door. it had floating scum in it. I have a bladder infection from it or something. I will find out. i'm so angry with waingaro hot spings & I think it should be comdemed and the previous shonky national government to be held to account.
Mike Mike - Hamilton/New Zealand
26th February 2018
60
Rating: 10/10
it was amazing we went there at about 9,10 at night and there was nobody there, it was super nice with a lot of mini water falls, we went to the spot right at the front and it was lovely, so lovely we went back the next day, except we went at 12pm and it was packed! we had to walk for awhile till we could find a empty spot, it didn't really mater about the walk, it was all worth it ! the water was the perfect temp, and the even though it was raining i enjoyed the whole thing! i definitely recommend you to go there if you are heading up to Rotorua ! also i recommend going to blue lake! both amazing places!
isabella - Auckland
13th February 2018
61
Rating: 9/10
Great time for the whole family. Something for all ages. Spa lovely and hot. Splash pad great fun, nice warm water for little ones. All pools at a great temperature. Will definitely come again. Lovely and clean.
Murray Family - Palmerston North, NZ
11th February 2018
62
Rating: 1/10
If you are Maori,dont go here,the lady will call out over the mike " hey Maori girl you can't swim there.. Disgraceful. These people are rat shit opps, I mean racist
Shane Winiata - Aoteroa/New Zeala
03th February 2018
63
Rating: -/10
Absolutely disgusting $200 later. Now have sore ears and flea bites from staying in a revolting so called motel
Unpleasant customer -
11th February 2018
64
Rating: 7/10
Visited in Jan '16. Only 1 of the 3 'clear' water pools downstream were swimmable, 1 was too hot, & 1 had hardly any water in it. The pool & water were cleanish, a bit of muck on the bottom, but nothing to put us off swimming. The 2 'cloudy' pools upstream were the pick of lot though, great temp and black sand bottom. Access was easy enough thanks to in a high clearance 4WD to Cow Stream then a bit of clambering up the stream to the pools
Brent O'Meagher - Lyttelton
16th January 2018
65
Rating: 3/10
Pretty shabby. Doesn't look like it's had any love since the 80s. Cracked concrete, broken fittings. Some manner of Classic Hits blaring over a speaker, with occasional interjections about chippies and drinks available at the shop. Very small town NZ. Pools were reasonable, in the context of the overall general shabbiness, and a pleasant temperature. Absolutely no sign of lifeguards, although there was a lifeguard seat - indicated by a handwritten and sellotaped sign. The larger hydroslide was excellent fun but felt decidedly unsafe. Got whacked in the face by flax on each run, and consistently got air while hurtling down a couple of corners. Didn't die. There was a sheep ambling around the hydroslides and pooping on the path. Not a huge amount of clearance in pool at bottom of slides. Most of the time, the slide attendant was distracted chatting to a mate instead of watching the near collisions, checking for drownings, etc. If you temper your expectations, everything's perfectly fine. Just don't drive more than maybe half an hour to get to it.
Matt - Wellington
02th January 2018
66
Rating: -/10
A long, but pleasant drive into the bush clad hills. The road is very twisty and narrow but sealed for most of the way, the last 23k's are unsealed, starting off quite wide but narrowing as you get deeper into the bush. Once the road narrows, drive slowly and carefully, there are idiots who drive way too fast and head on crashes will occur, not recommended for large vehicles like motorhomes although there is plenty of room to park and turn around at the end. The walking track down is quite steep, but manageable except for those in wheelchairs. The views are awesome, pools clean and tidy, but there's nowhere to change clothes, so do this in the carpark or toilet (long-drop version). You can camp along the road a 100 meters, but no power etc.
Ian - Hastings
03th January 2018
67
Rating: 3/10
We visited these pools last week. Very simple rustic set up. The man in the office lovely and friendly. Unfortunately the first pool I went into at the back of the complex had a step in that wasn't flush with the back of the pool. My foot slipped in this gap and my lower leg slipped in and was wedged. I fell sideways into the water and was lucky my leg didn't break. Thankfully my husband was with me and helped me get out. I was a bit shocked. Didn't say anything to the the lovely man in the office. We just left. I'm back home in Australia now and my whole leg is badly bruised and sore still. Just a warning to others to take extra care getting into these pools.
Pamela - Australia
18th December 2017
68
Rating: 4/10
Lovely clean facility and spacious. Unfortunately the owners are incredibly rude and intolerant of children. Each time we've come for a swim we've had a negative experience with the owners being grumpy at the children as well as us. Also non swimmers supervising their children getting charged the same as non swimmers does not make sense and makes for a very expensive trip.
Lisa - Tauranga
05th December 2017
69
Rating: 6/10
We’ve been here a few times, different days of the week. Although it seemed fairly quiet on Saturday what I did notice was the lack of staff actually monitoring the pool, it’s the same during the week when we’ve stopped off on our way to Whanga. I doubt many of the staff have ever worked in hospitality prior to working here as they aren’t very polite or friendly, the young ones seem to only know how to grunt, they don’t even have knowledge of the place the work at, general stuff like the size of the main pool, or what minerals are in the water. The food was good, still don’t know why we can’t pay for drinks at the same time as ordering our burgers. Obviously this place isn’t being run as a business, more of a hobby. Oh and the changing rooms, ok I get that they are pretty old, but considering there weren’t many people there they could have been cleaner.
Tom Larkins - Auckland
04th December 2017
70
Rating: 10/10
Was here over the weekend - a lot of works has been done and its looking amazing. Awesome place. Excited for the summer ahead and spending it on the lake.
Jeff - NZ
27th November 2017
71
Rating: 10/10
Amazing facilities! I can’t believe it’s free - what a wonderful place!
Christina - NZ
26th November 2017
72
Rating: 9/10
Had an amazing time at Onsen Hot pools when we visited Queenstown. Lovely staff, really clean facilities and the view is breathtaking. It was a little hot for my partner and I so we had to add more cold water throughout the hour we had there. But really good that there is the option of being able to add the cold if you need. Completely private rooms which was nice.
Tara Jayne - Auckland
08th November 2017
73
Rating: 2/10
Pretty crappy place. The smaller hot pool was super gross, could see skin/toenails etc floating in it. The bigger pool was ok. No life guards half the time, and the other half was an old lady that could barely walk.
Petah -
04th November 2017
74
Rating: 10/10
I moved to NZ from Australia 13years ago, I've been to about every pool on the North Island,and some on the South Island. Ngawha Springs are the best by far.The choice of pools, the variation in temperatures, colours, and aromas is amazing. I moved to Kaikohe 1 year ago so i could go daily to the pools.I never get bored as each days the pools are in a different "mood". Recent renewal of the timber and pathways has made the experience much easier for anyone who is mobility challenged. If you come to Northland and not visit Ngawha then you missed out on an experience of unequaled awesomeness.
jude de angulo - kaikohe,NZ
05th November 2017
75
Rating: 8/10
Staff were friendly and helpful. The experience was unusual but a fun experience. Started with 20mins in the mud pool then a rince off, followed by a soak in the thermal pools.
Raymond - AKL
18th October 2017
76
Rating: 8/10
Recently visited with my wife, it was a really cool experience. Found the self-regulation of the pools a small nuisance as you had to get out to adjust the temp.. But other than that it was great and staff very friendly.
Vincent -
18th October 2017
77
Rating: 8/10
We loved it here, the surroundings were beautiful and peaceful. Would recommend for the atmosphere! Maybe a little pricey but that's just my opinion. :)
Talia - NZ
18th October 2017
78
Rating: 8/10
I visited with my boyfriend earlier this year. The atmosphere was wonderful, it really felt like a mini paradise. The only thing I would comment on is that there isn't many different pools to choose from and the water temp not quite hot enough. But, we were there on a very rainy day! And it was a lovely experience.
Jayne - Hamilton
13th October 2017
79
Rating: 1/10
If you don't know the owner, then you don't go there. It's pretty basic and not that warm so your not missing anything.
Naike Local - Naike
14th October 2017
80
Rating: 7/10
Central to lots of activities. Clean and very friendly staff. Outside needs a paint to freshen it up and sign revamped. Would have loved another hot pool and a games room.
Kelly - Nz
14th October 2017
81
Rating: 10/10
Such a wicked place! Loved it here. Spent a day soaking in the pools with friends. Highly recommend! :)
Rina - New Zealand
14th October 2017
82
Rating: 4/10
Went here recently, was nice but over priced! Nice facilities though. Not so great customer service however.
Rina - New Zealand
14th October 2017
83
Rating: 10/10
Beautiful place, been going for years. An amazing place to relax after a long day on the lake!
Morgan -
14th October 2017
84
Rating: 8/10
Loved this place the tubs are very neat to sit in especially on a very cold snowy day. Service from the staff was very professional and helpful possibly a little hot for kids we actually had to keep getting out so the temperature regulation was a little average.
David D - Marlborough New Zealand
15th October 2017
85
Rating: 8/10
Free public swimming pools. Hot spa, kids pool and water play area and swimming pool.
Keith Watson - New zealand
12th October 2017
86
Rating: 7/10
It is just an old pool to go swimming in. Has potential to be amazing just needs a good tidy up. Spanish style built, two warm pools on side and big lap pool in the middle. Was very quiet which was great. Had whole place to ourselves.
Conrad Pedersen - Rotorua
10th October 2017
87
Rating: 10/10
Love Lake Rotoiti Hot Pools! We go every summer. Always look forward to it at the end of the year
Anna - Auckland
10th October 2017
88
Rating: 8/10
A great day out and the whole family had a good time at a decent price. The people were really nice and friendly and the facilities were just fine. The place is good value and we would recommend it. Unsure why there are negative reviews out there - maybe some people have unrealistic expectations of what to expect from hot pools in the middle of the North Island!
Stu - Tauwhare
06th October 2017
89
Rating: 10/10
Love this place, always a treat visiting. The kids love jumping into the lake after a hot swim. Wonderful location!!
Angela - NZ
05th October 2017
90
Rating: 4/10
Went today for the first time with family. Staff were friendly at the gate. All of the rails around the pools and inside the pools are rusted and in need of renewing. Many parts of the concrete were slimey and slipperey too especially up by the hydroslides, was quite dangerous. The hydroslides were awesome though, kids had a day of fun. Plenty of shelters to sit under with many tables and seating, great for family get togethers. The walkways around the pools are odd, not spacious or level, gotta be careful all the time there. Pools are geat though. Biggest complaint would be the 'life guards'. I saw 4 life guards today. 1 was an elderly woman who struggled to walk up the steps, another a large plus size woman (Im very plus sized so I know the physical limitations well) so I doubted their ability to actually save someone from drowning. The other 2 were men, 1 was very aware of the swimmers, walking around watching constantly, compared to the other who sat on his phone majority of the afternoon. An incident did occur too while I was there, an elderly woman was trying to get out of the hot pool but so many people occupy the stairs and sit in the way blocking the entrance and the use of the rails. She ended up slipping and hitting her head while trying to squeaze through them. No life guards saw it, took awhile for someone to get the attention of one, and they didnt really do anything, just came over asked if she was okay then helped her get out. Thats as far as the lifeguards assisstance went, the elderly woman ended up being concussed and her family took her to the hospital. After that I complained saying to a lifeguard that the stairs into the pools should be kept vacant because thats why the elderly woman slipped. The lifeguard listened, went over to all the people blocking the stairs and asked them to move, they did, then as the lifeguard turned they all returned back tot the stairs to sit. He didnt ask them again either. Another lifeguard occasionally asked them to scoot over every now and then. People blocked the stairs all afternoon. The place needs to invest in replacing the fixtures, and cleaning the pavement. But most of all they need trained life guards that enforce safety rules. Apart from these grievances my family had fun, but definitely didnt feel safe, so 4/10.
Maree - Hamilton, NZ
20th August 2017
91
Rating: 3/10
Too popular now. Very crowded with people. Lots of rubbish. Car park has glass everywhere from broken car windows. The site needs someone to take charge and upgrade it to handle the heavy use.
R Streiff - New Zealand
16th August 2017
92
Rating: -/10
I remember going there as kid in the eighties. I will always remember one experience I had there. I was in a pool and started talking to a guy, mid to early twenties with long blond hair and black roots. This guy was able to tell me accurately information about myself that someone only who knew me intimately would have known. The memory of that experience has left a lasting puzzle to this day, since then I have always associated the springs with the intangible and the presence of the supernatural.
Max - NZ
15th August 2017
93
Rating: 2/10
It's a real shame that the segregated Japanese Bathhouse is no longer the same under the new owners. It used to be so relaxing and traditional. Prices are a bit steep too now.
Fred Leverton -
03th August 2017
94
Rating: 10/10
Been here many times a pool to soak pool to play and swim awesome highly recommend. Water clean and staff. Places to have a picnic.
Lynnette - Hamilton/NZ
29th July 2017
95
Rating: 9/10
Stopped by here on Monday 14 July 2017. Whilst some travellers describe to access road as if it was tough, it is just a short gravel forestry road and would not be considered difficult by local drivers. The track to the hot pool can be muddy but it's only a few minutes walk through the bush to the hot pools. Once there it's great to bath in the warm pool by the cascade on a cold morning. Dig you toes into the sand by the water fall and you can feel the hot water as it bubbles up from the springs in the bottom. When we were there there was no rubbish although it would be nice if those who are compelled to drink could take their empties with them. All in all a great treat for the family and plenty of people around by day to feel safe.
Nick Brougham - Auckland
19th July 2017
96
Rating: 7/10
I used to love soaking in the spa under the mountain and listening to the birds. Unfortunately the (very) loud radio blasting ads has killed the ambiance to the point where I don't enjoy this any more. Please can the radio be stopped? Nature and laughter is all that is needed...
Marge -
15th July 2017
97
Rating: 3/10
We paid for a private pool thinking it'd be relaxing away from the crowds but instead the water was dirty, so many floating hairs and bits of paper etc. The filter was really noisy and the office ladies could be heard constantly talking over the loud speaker. It was gross so we got out early. The outside pool was ok, needs upgrading but at least it was a lot cleaner. It's embarrassing the state of the pools, considering the number of overseas tourists who come and the cost of $40 for two adults and two kids! There needs to be some serious upgrading happening!
Kim - Auckland
15th July 2017
98
Rating: 10/10
Amazing, surreal and worth travelling to visit, specially for a soak and unwind. Will be back.
James - Hastings NZ
10th July 2017
99
Rating: 1/10
Cabins are just ok but the kitchen, toilets and showers a disgusting, filthy mess. Everything damaged and had not been cleaned for weeks. STAY AWAY!!!!!!!
B. Foote - Taupo
07th July 2017
100
Rating: 8/10
It was a great nite?? Definitely going back more organized than wat I was though!! One thing is they need 2play movies!!
Hine-Porete Paul - Hamilton
07th July 2017
Latest Photo
Oropi Hot Pools, Cafe & Beauty Spa
New drone photo of Oropi Hot Pools, Cafe & Beauty Spa
Tarawera Hot Springs [CLOSED]
Now it’s completely ruined. Almost nothing left that resembles a pool. And the track is super dangerous with mudslides having blicked the track
Amethyst Hot Springs, Lower Wanganui River
Taken 28/11/18.