Latest 100 Hot Pool Reviews

1
Rating: 10/10
These pools are incredible,beautiful and smell just as they should! The staff is very friendly and there are so many options of diffferent temperatures for everyone from 55celcius to almost freezing cold. Going from the hot to cold pools is very good for your heart and helps your bones become stronger. Each pool has a different mud in it with its own unique minnerals to rub all over you that you have to wash off each time before entering the next pool. Unfortunately you have to wear clothes but still worth going. The review of the lady who fell on the not even step is completely ludicrous and the fact that she did not say anything to the employees but then wrote a negative review is just wrong. It was hers and is always your responsibility to look where you step ALL of the time EVERYWHERE. Be warned:() and even though I left no valuable belongings in the locker room someone 100% for certain went threw my things I left in my locker unlocked attempting to steal from us. Overall amazing and incredible experience just remember to lock your car and leave your valuables with the kind employees in the office:-)
Chandler Corbin - Lake Toxaway/ Wanaka
13th July 2018
2
Rating: -/10
This is a description of this one or the other one in the area from the 1800's http://rsnz.natlib.govt.nz/volume/rsnz_02/rsnz_02_00_002740.html
ij -
04th July 2018
3
Rating: -/10
This is a description of this one or the other one in the area from the 1800's http://rsnz.natlib.govt.nz/volume/rsnz_02/rsnz_02_00_002740.html
IJ -
04th July 2018
4
Rating: 10/10
Great memory of 1972 ....oh to be young again...on my way to cross the Copeland Pass , ice axe and crampons at the ready. Skinny dipping at night in the hot pools surrounded by mountains with a full moon and scudding clouds.....wow never to be forgotten.......happy days.
Peter Edgington - UK/Australia
24th June 2018
5
Rating: 1/10
Tried to find these pools despite 4 years old reviews but no luck. No signs of the pools or the big pool. Could someone prove me wrong?
Boris - Slovakia
28th May 2018
6
Rating: 8/10
Had a lovely time here today- we didnt spend the whole 20 mins as we didnt really need it. We were a little worried about going due to the comment about TLC being required- I have made a suggestion to remove this statement as it potentially puts off customers- personally I have seen much much worse! We didnt use the public pool as we were travelling home. My only suggestion for improvement is that it would be nice to have some sort of privacy screen for changing as not all couples wishing for a private pool may be comfortable changing in front of each other- new couples, groups of friends, for example.
julia scanlon - Te Awamutu
26th May 2018
7
Rating: 3/10
Small, muddy, a bit difficult to locate. Could only really soak our legs. Was nice after a long rainy day of tramping though. To access, give Gloriavale a call and let them know you'd like to tramp up the Haupiri. There is a DOC parking lot and signage. We actually came in from Lake Morgan and went out down the Haupiri, which was a 3 day loop.
Kevin Fraley - Alaska, USA
22th May 2018
8
Rating: 10/10
The total destruction of Sylvia Flats Hot Polls is now happening. Contractors arrived about Monday 7 May 2018 are are building a rock wall beside the river and a road along the cliff bottom. When finished there will be a placed rock wall dropping into the river with deep river water. This is being done to save the road above. There will never be hot water here again. The only hope of a pool will be crossing the river when it is low and exploring the other side, IF they leave the car park open. The other pools at the bush edge across the river were covered by the expanding shingle fan some years ago. All this is the result of the large slip in the head of the creak across from the car park. This slip has for years feed gravel into the Lewis river, keeping the river bed higher than normal. This gravel "wave" finished some years back and the river bed level drop up to 1000mm over the next few years. This led to erosion of the banks by the pools and the under cutting of the road cliff. The river "fall" that was 100m up stream of the pool is now at the pools and the river coarse is now toward the pools and the cliff. I visited the pools the night the first erosion of the cliff started. I have got video of trees and rock falling into the river. The bottom of the cliff is now some 10m closer to the road. This looks to be the end of the only road side free pool in the south island. I would like to add a photo of the digger that is there now. Owen
Owen Pearson - New Zealand
14th May 2018
9
Rating: 10/10
Since leaving Te Puia Springs as a 6 year old to move 62 years ago up North with our parents, my ,brother and I, with spouses, returned and stayed in the Te Puia Spring hotel as a bit of a pilgrimage . We are all thrilled to see the Hotel in such caring hands with restoring the now 100 year old beauty back to all its glory. The restoration thus far is fabulous. The welcome and friendliness was superb, the staff and owner were so hospitable and went beyond the norm with their hospitality .. the linens and beds and new fitting are modern and fit well with the era of the Hotel. A long soak in the mineral bath was just bliss and we all slept extremely well in lovely comfortable beds. We can’t wait to go back and stay. A beautiful old building. A unique Hotel. Learning that there is a takeaway at the dairy not a few minutes walk away from the Pub is a bonus. And of course. The fabulous beach a mere five to ten minutes drive away to Waipiro Bay. (We visited specially to see where our parents were married . At the lovely old church Waipiro Bay.). Thank you Zhu. And wishing you all the best with the project.
Raey Fulton - Tauranga NewZealand
07th May 2018
10
Rating: 10/10
after reading the reviews it totally surpassed expectations, the place is lovely! clean pools, Lovely staff, Highly Recommended , loved the short walk around the geothermal area and feeding the Trout off the bridge,, we loved it so much we went twice during our short stay..
ManyHawk & WhiteDove - New Zealand
03th May 2018
11
Rating: 10/10
Absolutely Fantastic! We biked in from St James Homestead, made a perfect day trip. Hot pools were super warm and in an awesome remote location. Would recommend to anybody and everybody.
Tom Robinson - Nelson New Zealand
01th May 2018
12
Rating: 10/10
Tokaanu hot pools were "the place to be" growing up in Turangi.. Mum (Lorraine) and dad (Ashley) would always take me there as often as possible.. I can't wait to visit next weekend and relive many childhood memories..
Shanna Wilson - Hamilton/New Zealand
28th April 2018
13
Rating: 10/10
Very good, very hot. Best spot is behind two large boulders in the dried up creek bed on the true right side of the island. Good campsite and two shovels provided. So hot you will need cold water out of the small creek to cool the pools.
Nick macbeth - Cheviot
25th April 2018
14
Rating: 8/10
I've been going to Waingaro since an infant. Yes it may be outdated compared to other wealthy Springs but in general it does the job I expect it to do. It's become neglected somewhat but doesn't change the fact that the water is why I'm there; relaxation temperature, hydrotherapy, peace and the childhood memories flashing by when I look at each area of the site. I love the loud laughable characters of the owners and the smiling humble staff, they have shown me no bias, ever and I'm Maori...in all honesty the owner will clock you, real loud, on the intercom if she has to because most times its needed. Be responsible and she won't call you out.
MeiMei - Hamilton
17th April 2018
15
Rating: 10/10
Went on a cruise on board the Pure Cruises catamaran in Lake Rotoiti and it was a lovely afternoon. The lake was beautifully peaceful and at one corner is a hidden gem - the Manupirua hot springs, accessible only by boat.
Marie - Australia
13th March 2018
16
Rating: 5/10
The spring by the car park opposite Mere Road is an interesting one. Although I'd been to Taupo on many occasions I had never seen this until a couple of years ago. This is strange considering how accessible the spring is. From the end of the car park walk along the lakeside path until you see the 'danger scalding water' sign. The spring comes out just below the path onto the beach, and people have made sand banks in order to form pools. Although the water is indeed scalding on exit, the pools are usually just pleasantly warm. This area used to have a natural feel, but recently large stones have been put in place to protect the lake edge. Many of these have been taken to make pool edges and the whole effect is somewhat scruffy as a result. Its still fun to sit on the natural rocks with your feet in lovely warm water.
Bernard - Bournemouth GB
30th March 2018
17
Rating: 9/10
We were there when the river was a bit high and struggled to dig enough of a pool to sit in... But there is a few billy's to shower with, and that alone is one of the nicest things I have ever done 2 days into a 5 day trip! There are blue triangles marking the route from Julia hut, shovels and billy's on top of a rock and Whio in the area.
Jonas - Wellington
02th April 2018
18
Rating: 7/10
My wife and I finally visited this hidden gem on 17 Feb. Thanks to PJWoods for the directions. We parked near the hole in the bushes and tramped to the falls along a slightly muddy track. No sign of litter or any other people. The water was very hot but bearable, but the muddy sand on the bottom was much too hot. Even though I was wearing jandals the mud would squidged over and burned my feet. Thus I stayed close to the edge as things got hotter as I tried to get to the fall. Great fun and lovely to have the place to ourselves. So peaceful. Long may it remain "secret".
Bernard - Bournemouth UK
05th March 2018
19
Rating: 9/10
Called in to try the Morere Hot Springs on our way to Gisborne. What an absolute delight! Not only a variety of hot pools but a temperate swimming pool and lovely bush walks. The hottest of the Nickau pools was a tad too hot for us but the middle one was great. We also paid the extra to have a private pool for 1/2 hour. What bliss! No need for togs and the water was beautifully hot. We sat and gazed out at the native trees and ferns. The water here at Morere is salty and has a faint tarry smell, unlike many pools with their sulphur smells. We enjoyed the visit so much that we went back 3 days later on our return from Gisborne.
Bernard - Bournemouth UK
04th March 2018
20
Rating: 8/10
This mini hot water beach is very nice and off the beaten track. It is easy to find and there is a carpark at the beach. A steep climb brings you to the top of the dunes with the beach spread out before you. For us, finding the hot area was easy: we just headed to the small group of people already there. Before long we had dug our own pool and settled back to enjoy. There were only about 6 families there and all were quietly enjoying the warm water. Much more peaceful and relaxing than its more famous twin on the Coromandel. We stayed until the tide came in.
Bernard - BournemouthUK
04th March 2018
21
Rating: 5/10
As we in the Wai O Tapu area we decided to visit kerosene creek again. We were saddened by what had become of the falls and pool. All generally scruffy and someone had put large stones across the stream to deepen the pool. It has lost its natural allure. Further upstream, halfway to the carpark things were better. There is a small waterfall and at this point a large part of the bank has been washed away leaving a flat stony area. This area has a gentle flow of warm water where you can sit, or go into the stream beneath the mini fall. This part of the creek is much less spoiled. I think kerosene creek is suffering from its popularity.
Bernard - Bournemouth UK
04th March 2018
22
Rating: 8/10
The pools downstream were better, one hot, one perfect one cold. We spent the day there, good 4x4 track, need low range and diff lock for a few spots. Get access to the combination lock for the gate through the DOC website. Register your car for the st james conservation park and they give you the combination, it changes every 2 weeks. The pools have been well made with concrete and rocks, however there are a few leaks if a volunteer wants to fix them. There are a few sandflies around, same as everywhere.
Sacha - Aus
27th February 2018
23
Rating: 10/10
Visited over the weekend. marvelous place. peaceful and tranquil. a real highlight
Martin - nz
28th February 2018
24
Rating: -/10
I went to Waingaro Hot Springs on Saturday the 24th of February 2018. I booked a spa for half an hour for $40. when I got their with my misses it seemed like the cripple lady their hadent prepared the spas. acccutually it looked like they were not in use. she then got the lifeguard to fill the spa from the hose and turn the spa tap on manually from spa and turn something on in the control room next door. it had floating scum in it. I have a bladder infection from it or something. I will find out. i'm so angry with waingaro hot spings & I think it should be comdemed and the previous shonky national government to be held to account.
Mike Mike - Hamilton/New Zealand
26th February 2018
25
Rating: 10/10
it was amazing we went there at about 9,10 at night and there was nobody there, it was super nice with a lot of mini water falls, we went to the spot right at the front and it was lovely, so lovely we went back the next day, except we went at 12pm and it was packed! we had to walk for awhile till we could find a empty spot, it didn't really mater about the walk, it was all worth it ! the water was the perfect temp, and the even though it was raining i enjoyed the whole thing! i definitely recommend you to go there if you are heading up to Rotorua ! also i recommend going to blue lake! both amazing places!
isabella - Auckland
13th February 2018
26
Rating: 9/10
Great time for the whole family. Something for all ages. Spa lovely and hot. Splash pad great fun, nice warm water for little ones. All pools at a great temperature. Will definitely come again. Lovely and clean.
Murray Family - Palmerston North, NZ
11th February 2018
27
Rating: 1/10
If you are Maori,dont go here,the lady will call out over the mike " hey Maori girl you can't swim there.. Disgraceful. These people are rat shit opps, I mean racist
Shane Winiata - Aoteroa/New Zeala
03th February 2018
28
Rating: -/10
Absolutely disgusting $200 later. Now have sore ears and flea bites from staying in a revolting so called motel
Unpleasant customer -
11th February 2018
29
Rating: 7/10
Visited in Jan '16. Only 1 of the 3 'clear' water pools downstream were swimmable, 1 was too hot, & 1 had hardly any water in it. The pool & water were cleanish, a bit of muck on the bottom, but nothing to put us off swimming. The 2 'cloudy' pools upstream were the pick of lot though, great temp and black sand bottom. Access was easy enough thanks to in a high clearance 4WD to Cow Stream then a bit of clambering up the stream to the pools
Brent O'Meagher - Lyttelton
16th January 2018
30
Rating: 3/10
Pretty shabby. Doesn't look like it's had any love since the 80s. Cracked concrete, broken fittings. Some manner of Classic Hits blaring over a speaker, with occasional interjections about chippies and drinks available at the shop. Very small town NZ. Pools were reasonable, in the context of the overall general shabbiness, and a pleasant temperature. Absolutely no sign of lifeguards, although there was a lifeguard seat - indicated by a handwritten and sellotaped sign. The larger hydroslide was excellent fun but felt decidedly unsafe. Got whacked in the face by flax on each run, and consistently got air while hurtling down a couple of corners. Didn't die. There was a sheep ambling around the hydroslides and pooping on the path. Not a huge amount of clearance in pool at bottom of slides. Most of the time, the slide attendant was distracted chatting to a mate instead of watching the near collisions, checking for drownings, etc. If you temper your expectations, everything's perfectly fine. Just don't drive more than maybe half an hour to get to it.
Matt - Wellington
02th January 2018
31
Rating: -/10
A long, but pleasant drive into the bush clad hills. The road is very twisty and narrow but sealed for most of the way, the last 23k's are unsealed, starting off quite wide but narrowing as you get deeper into the bush. Once the road narrows, drive slowly and carefully, there are idiots who drive way too fast and head on crashes will occur, not recommended for large vehicles like motorhomes although there is plenty of room to park and turn around at the end. The walking track down is quite steep, but manageable except for those in wheelchairs. The views are awesome, pools clean and tidy, but there's nowhere to change clothes, so do this in the carpark or toilet (long-drop version). You can camp along the road a 100 meters, but no power etc.
Ian - Hastings
03th January 2018
32
Rating: 3/10
We visited these pools last week. Very simple rustic set up. The man in the office lovely and friendly. Unfortunately the first pool I went into at the back of the complex had a step in that wasn't flush with the back of the pool. My foot slipped in this gap and my lower leg slipped in and was wedged. I fell sideways into the water and was lucky my leg didn't break. Thankfully my husband was with me and helped me get out. I was a bit shocked. Didn't say anything to the the lovely man in the office. We just left. I'm back home in Australia now and my whole leg is badly bruised and sore still. Just a warning to others to take extra care getting into these pools.
Pamela - Australia
18th December 2017
33
Rating: 4/10
Lovely clean facility and spacious. Unfortunately the owners are incredibly rude and intolerant of children. Each time we've come for a swim we've had a negative experience with the owners being grumpy at the children as well as us. Also non swimmers supervising their children getting charged the same as non swimmers does not make sense and makes for a very expensive trip.
Lisa - Tauranga
05th December 2017
34
Rating: 6/10
We’ve been here a few times, different days of the week. Although it seemed fairly quiet on Saturday what I did notice was the lack of staff actually monitoring the pool, it’s the same during the week when we’ve stopped off on our way to Whanga. I doubt many of the staff have ever worked in hospitality prior to working here as they aren’t very polite or friendly, the young ones seem to only know how to grunt, they don’t even have knowledge of the place the work at, general stuff like the size of the main pool, or what minerals are in the water. The food was good, still don’t know why we can’t pay for drinks at the same time as ordering our burgers. Obviously this place isn’t being run as a business, more of a hobby. Oh and the changing rooms, ok I get that they are pretty old, but considering there weren’t many people there they could have been cleaner.
Tom Larkins - Auckland
04th December 2017
35
Rating: 10/10
Was here over the weekend - a lot of works has been done and its looking amazing. Awesome place. Excited for the summer ahead and spending it on the lake.
Jeff - NZ
27th November 2017
36
Rating: 10/10
Amazing facilities! I can’t believe it’s free - what a wonderful place!
Christina - NZ
26th November 2017
37
Rating: 9/10
Had an amazing time at Onsen Hot pools when we visited Queenstown. Lovely staff, really clean facilities and the view is breathtaking. It was a little hot for my partner and I so we had to add more cold water throughout the hour we had there. But really good that there is the option of being able to add the cold if you need. Completely private rooms which was nice.
Tara Jayne - Auckland
08th November 2017
38
Rating: 2/10
Pretty crappy place. The smaller hot pool was super gross, could see skin/toenails etc floating in it. The bigger pool was ok. No life guards half the time, and the other half was an old lady that could barely walk.
Petah -
04th November 2017
39
Rating: 10/10
I moved to NZ from Australia 13years ago, I've been to about every pool on the North Island,and some on the South Island. Ngawha Springs are the best by far.The choice of pools, the variation in temperatures, colours, and aromas is amazing. I moved to Kaikohe 1 year ago so i could go daily to the pools.I never get bored as each days the pools are in a different "mood". Recent renewal of the timber and pathways has made the experience much easier for anyone who is mobility challenged. If you come to Northland and not visit Ngawha then you missed out on an experience of unequaled awesomeness.
jude de angulo - kaikohe,NZ
05th November 2017
40
Rating: 8/10
Staff were friendly and helpful. The experience was unusual but a fun experience. Started with 20mins in the mud pool then a rince off, followed by a soak in the thermal pools.
Raymond - AKL
18th October 2017
41
Rating: 8/10
Recently visited with my wife, it was a really cool experience. Found the self-regulation of the pools a small nuisance as you had to get out to adjust the temp.. But other than that it was great and staff very friendly.
Vincent -
18th October 2017
42
Rating: 8/10
We loved it here, the surroundings were beautiful and peaceful. Would recommend for the atmosphere! Maybe a little pricey but that's just my opinion. :)
Talia - NZ
18th October 2017
43
Rating: 8/10
I visited with my boyfriend earlier this year. The atmosphere was wonderful, it really felt like a mini paradise. The only thing I would comment on is that there isn't many different pools to choose from and the water temp not quite hot enough. But, we were there on a very rainy day! And it was a lovely experience.
Jayne - Hamilton
13th October 2017
44
Rating: 1/10
If you don't know the owner, then you don't go there. It's pretty basic and not that warm so your not missing anything.
Naike Local - Naike
14th October 2017
45
Rating: 7/10
Central to lots of activities. Clean and very friendly staff. Outside needs a paint to freshen it up and sign revamped. Would have loved another hot pool and a games room.
Kelly - Nz
14th October 2017
46
Rating: 10/10
Such a wicked place! Loved it here. Spent a day soaking in the pools with friends. Highly recommend! :)
Rina - New Zealand
14th October 2017
47
Rating: 4/10
Went here recently, was nice but over priced! Nice facilities though. Not so great customer service however.
Rina - New Zealand
14th October 2017
48
Rating: 10/10
Beautiful place, been going for years. An amazing place to relax after a long day on the lake!
Morgan -
14th October 2017
49
Rating: 8/10
Loved this place the tubs are very neat to sit in especially on a very cold snowy day. Service from the staff was very professional and helpful possibly a little hot for kids we actually had to keep getting out so the temperature regulation was a little average.
David D - Marlborough New Zealand
15th October 2017
50
Rating: 8/10
Free public swimming pools. Hot spa, kids pool and water play area and swimming pool.
Keith Watson - New zealand
12th October 2017
51
Rating: 7/10
It is just an old pool to go swimming in. Has potential to be amazing just needs a good tidy up. Spanish style built, two warm pools on side and big lap pool in the middle. Was very quiet which was great. Had whole place to ourselves.
Conrad Pedersen - Rotorua
10th October 2017
52
Rating: 10/10
Love Lake Rotoiti Hot Pools! We go every summer. Always look forward to it at the end of the year
Anna - Auckland
10th October 2017
53
Rating: 8/10
A great day out and the whole family had a good time at a decent price. The people were really nice and friendly and the facilities were just fine. The place is good value and we would recommend it. Unsure why there are negative reviews out there - maybe some people have unrealistic expectations of what to expect from hot pools in the middle of the North Island!
Stu - Tauwhare
06th October 2017
54
Rating: 10/10
Love this place, always a treat visiting. The kids love jumping into the lake after a hot swim. Wonderful location!!
Angela - NZ
05th October 2017
55
Rating: 4/10
Went today for the first time with family. Staff were friendly at the gate. All of the rails around the pools and inside the pools are rusted and in need of renewing. Many parts of the concrete were slimey and slipperey too especially up by the hydroslides, was quite dangerous. The hydroslides were awesome though, kids had a day of fun. Plenty of shelters to sit under with many tables and seating, great for family get togethers. The walkways around the pools are odd, not spacious or level, gotta be careful all the time there. Pools are geat though. Biggest complaint would be the 'life guards'. I saw 4 life guards today. 1 was an elderly woman who struggled to walk up the steps, another a large plus size woman (Im very plus sized so I know the physical limitations well) so I doubted their ability to actually save someone from drowning. The other 2 were men, 1 was very aware of the swimmers, walking around watching constantly, compared to the other who sat on his phone majority of the afternoon. An incident did occur too while I was there, an elderly woman was trying to get out of the hot pool but so many people occupy the stairs and sit in the way blocking the entrance and the use of the rails. She ended up slipping and hitting her head while trying to squeaze through them. No life guards saw it, took awhile for someone to get the attention of one, and they didnt really do anything, just came over asked if she was okay then helped her get out. Thats as far as the lifeguards assisstance went, the elderly woman ended up being concussed and her family took her to the hospital. After that I complained saying to a lifeguard that the stairs into the pools should be kept vacant because thats why the elderly woman slipped. The lifeguard listened, went over to all the people blocking the stairs and asked them to move, they did, then as the lifeguard turned they all returned back tot the stairs to sit. He didnt ask them again either. Another lifeguard occasionally asked them to scoot over every now and then. People blocked the stairs all afternoon. The place needs to invest in replacing the fixtures, and cleaning the pavement. But most of all they need trained life guards that enforce safety rules. Apart from these grievances my family had fun, but definitely didnt feel safe, so 4/10.
Maree - Hamilton, NZ
20th August 2017
56
Rating: 3/10
Too popular now. Very crowded with people. Lots of rubbish. Car park has glass everywhere from broken car windows. The site needs someone to take charge and upgrade it to handle the heavy use.
R Streiff - New Zealand
16th August 2017
57
Rating: -/10
I remember going there as kid in the eighties. I will always remember one experience I had there. I was in a pool and started talking to a guy, mid to early twenties with long blond hair and black roots. This guy was able to tell me accurately information about myself that someone only who knew me intimately would have known. The memory of that experience has left a lasting puzzle to this day, since then I have always associated the springs with the intangible and the presence of the supernatural.
Max - NZ
15th August 2017
58
Rating: 2/10
It's a real shame that the segregated Japanese Bathhouse is no longer the same under the new owners. It used to be so relaxing and traditional. Prices are a bit steep too now.
Fred Leverton -
03th August 2017
59
Rating: 10/10
Been here many times a pool to soak pool to play and swim awesome highly recommend. Water clean and staff. Places to have a picnic.
Lynnette - Hamilton/NZ
29th July 2017
60
Rating: 9/10
Stopped by here on Monday 14 July 2017. Whilst some travellers describe to access road as if it was tough, it is just a short gravel forestry road and would not be considered difficult by local drivers. The track to the hot pool can be muddy but it's only a few minutes walk through the bush to the hot pools. Once there it's great to bath in the warm pool by the cascade on a cold morning. Dig you toes into the sand by the water fall and you can feel the hot water as it bubbles up from the springs in the bottom. When we were there there was no rubbish although it would be nice if those who are compelled to drink could take their empties with them. All in all a great treat for the family and plenty of people around by day to feel safe.
Nick Brougham - Auckland
19th July 2017
61
Rating: 7/10
I used to love soaking in the spa under the mountain and listening to the birds. Unfortunately the (very) loud radio blasting ads has killed the ambiance to the point where I don't enjoy this any more. Please can the radio be stopped? Nature and laughter is all that is needed...
Marge -
15th July 2017
62
Rating: 3/10
We paid for a private pool thinking it'd be relaxing away from the crowds but instead the water was dirty, so many floating hairs and bits of paper etc. The filter was really noisy and the office ladies could be heard constantly talking over the loud speaker. It was gross so we got out early. The outside pool was ok, needs upgrading but at least it was a lot cleaner. It's embarrassing the state of the pools, considering the number of overseas tourists who come and the cost of $40 for two adults and two kids! There needs to be some serious upgrading happening!
Kim - Auckland
15th July 2017
63
Rating: 10/10
Amazing, surreal and worth travelling to visit, specially for a soak and unwind. Will be back.
James - Hastings NZ
10th July 2017
64
Rating: 1/10
Cabins are just ok but the kitchen, toilets and showers a disgusting, filthy mess. Everything damaged and had not been cleaned for weeks. STAY AWAY!!!!!!!
B. Foote - Taupo
07th July 2017
65
Rating: 8/10
It was a great nite?? Definitely going back more organized than wat I was though!! One thing is they need 2play movies!!
Hine-Porete Paul - Hamilton
07th July 2017
66
Rating: 4/10
It's in a nice bush setting, but unfortunately the water was not warm enough. Also the pools and building are a bit run down and need some maintenance. I visited in early June and being the Kiwi fruit season, it was quite full with seasonal workers who tend be quite noisy late into night, so camping wasn't much fun either
Ranjan - Auckland
03th July 2017
67
Rating: 10/10
Just beautiful, I'm not sure what is wrong with children seeing naked bodies though, we all came that way? Surely hiding something only makes a child feel that there is something to be ashamed of?
Liz - napier
16th June 2017
68
Rating: 10/10
Who do you people think you are whineing and carrying on about the entry fee? Shameless!! This is a privately owned stream on privately owned land. The owners have every right to charge you for the privilige of its use. So you used to come here for free? Well lucky you but now you have to pay. Simple really get over it.
Monique - NZ
17th June 2017
69
Rating: 9/10
Great Spot, and amazing value for $4 a head for all of the pools. Can get a bit packed on weekends. Soaked in the 42 degree bulldog and was warm for days! It is a bit "simple" and there are no showers, so if you don't want to smell "Thermal" take that into consideration. I will frequent anytime I am within an hours drive for sure!
Dan - Auckland
06th June 2017
70
Rating: 8/10
Nice pool. easy to find. pitty i only had time for a brief foot warmer.
James Ivey - NZ
02th June 2017
71
Rating: 10/10
Waingaro Hot Springs is the best day out for the whole family. The owners and staff are so warm and welcoming. It burst with character, so relaxing and always clean. I feel so lucky to have this just half an hour away and great all year round what ever the weather!
Joni Mathieson - Raglan
29th May 2017
72
Rating: 9/10
A hotpools complex with plenty on offer. Four pools that are part of a holiday park and can be accessed independently. The 3 thermal pool range in temperature from 37-40 degrees. The complex has a well maintained retro feel. There are private pools available. Looking forward to visiting again and spreading the word about this hidden gem. A rural setting and close to Matamata.
Sheryldeen McCollum - Hamilton
07th May 2017
73
Rating: 10/10
Beautiful location, amazing atmosphere, perfect for couples and families, one of New Zealands hidden gems.
Jonathan Hester - Auckland New Zealand
19th April 2017
74
Rating: 10/10
Great place for a relaxing break.
Ross - NZ
18th April 2017
75
Rating: 10/10
Paradise on earth, it's a highlight of our family holiday every year. Beautiful and relaxing in the rain or in the evening and fun in the daytime heating up in the pools and sliding down the slide into the lake. It's always been immaculately clean every time we've been over the years and the managers are friendly.
Nicola - NZ
18th April 2017
76
Rating: 10/10
Great family atmosphere. Awesome for the kids to slide, bomb and wrestle on the pontoon. You know it's a good place when you struggle to find a spot to park your boat.
Adam - Hamilton
18th April 2017
77
Rating: 7/10
Not too bad, nice big rooms, but a bit worn out....
colin - Auckland
18th April 2017
78
Rating: 8/10
Very kind and friendly service, always happy to see you from year to year . its like seeing an old friend each year . quite and laid back . very cool spa pools with each room
Doug - Rothesay Bay
18th April 2017
79
Rating: 10/10
Awesome ripper of a place beautiful setting and very relaxing
Maurice - New zealand
18th April 2017
80
Rating: 10/10
Love going to these pools, such a lovely spot, so relaxing and great atmosphere!
Tarina MacKay - Auckland
18th April 2017
81
Rating: 10/10
There's nothing better than soaking in these hot pools! Options of different pool temps is a really nice feature and I really like that every pool is emptied, cleaned and refilled every day. My family holidays at Lake Rotoiti almost every summer and they all love going to the pools, there's enough to keep all age groups happy. There's plenty of easy access boat parking and change room and toilet facilities and a snack bar! I can't wait to go back!
Tracey - Auckland
18th April 2017
82
Rating: 10/10
Have been to Lake Rotoiti for summer holidays 7yrs in a row, and my highlight of my holidays are going to these hot pools, love going for a refreshing swim in the lake then hopping straight into the pools.
Paula Johnson - Hamilton
18th April 2017
83
Rating: 10/10
This place is a real gem. Won't find a better place in NZ to relax and take in the scenery.
Bryan - Auckland
18th April 2017
84
Rating: 10/10
One of NZ's best hidden paradise's !
Brad - NZ
18th April 2017
85
Rating: 10/10
Love it, perfect for relaxing in after wakeboarding and dinner
Jason - Auckland NZ
18th April 2017
86
Rating: 5/10
Bit of hike but a nice spot
Paul - NZ
18th April 2017
87
Rating: 2/10
I have been here many times over the years and often stopped en-route to or from Christchurch but in January called to find new owners and new prices, $40 per person. No more visits at that price.
Kerry-Jayne - West Coast
16th April 2017
88
Rating: 10/10
I remember wen I was between 6and 8 about 20 years ago my mum and dad use to take all us kids here wen you couldn't get there through spa park u had to go down spa rd and turn onto a gravel road just before you hit the car park at spa park. And we would come to a locked gate were we would leave our car and walk a short distance to the hotspot and river back then we would leave our car fully open and there was no worries at about theives. There was never anyone else there wen we went there we were always the only ones there i think there was one time we were there and another maori family arrived we made some awesome mates that day lol.we use to go there almost everyday. I also remember the nxt time we returned the gate was open so we could drive straight up to the river and after that my dad put his padlock on the gate and for years his lock remained on that gate. it was so beautiful there so peaceful and relaxing but also so much fun for us kids because of the river we would go up the river and float back down to the hot spot. We use to dive in dunk our heads under even wen the signs said not to lol but hay nothing ever happen to any of us. This was my favorite place it the world it felt like it was our own lol piece of waikato river. I recently went back home to taupo and visited this place and was so disappointed because of the lack of care people have for it it is way too over populated and people don't clean up after themselves and leave rubbish laying around and local theives r a big let down too as it all ruins the beautiful atmosphere it can give you. I am just so glad I got to experience this beautiful part of nature wen it was unknown and we always had it to ourselves. ??
Ngardz - Perth
24th March 2017
89
Rating: 9/10
Always enjoy coming here, place is always tidy and in a good state of repair. Pools themselves are clean, I enjoy the bigger thermal pool mostly as the smaller one is a tad too hot (others may like this) Only issue is the $22 fee for adults to get in is rather excessive.
Carl - Lower Hutt
20th March 2017
90
Rating: 6/10
Place feels a bit dated and needs some TLC. Main pool had some foliage in it from the bamboo alongside the pool. The 1.2m Geothermal pool needs a fresh coat of plaster as the water has eaten away at it over time, ground in it is a little rough. The Hotter pool is a bit too shallow but nice and warm. Access to the pools will be tricky if you have a disability as there are some steps and steep path. Water itself is nice and warm, can't smell anything like sulphur. Signs around the pool do note it is filtered. Overall the place would be great if a bit of money was spent on the place.
Carl - Lower Hutt
15th March 2017
91
Rating: 9/10
Nice, comfortable, lovely quiet place to stay. Hot pool is very relaxing. Definitely be back!
Tatanera -
31th January 2017
92
Rating: 8/10
Wonderful place to visit after a rainy hike on Ruapehu. Great price, friendly and helpful staff, and soothing water. We had 20 minutes in the private pools which was enough because of the heat. The public pool felt great after that. The only shower facilities are a couple of cold poolside ones, but it does the job.
Jo - UK
09th February 2017
93
Rating: 2/10
When I arrived I asked what time they close. I was told 9pm. I asked would we have 5 min to ba able to change. No problem was the answer even if we stayed longer it would not be a problem. There is a clock however not enough light to see it from the other side of the pool late at night. Then suddenly the lights went off. I ended up hurting myself in the dark as a result I have a light concussion and whiplash. Saddest thing is not even a sorry from the owner as we should know what the time is. I had overseas guest with me and they are both fire officers. They thought it was rather strange the pool was not checked if it was empty. We have been visiting there for 40 years although not regularly lately however this attitude I have never experienced before. The middle pool needs some maintenence also.
Marjo - Lichfield New Zealand
15th February 2017
94
Rating: 10/10
What New Zealand is all about.
Mrs SF - Auckland
23th February 2017
95
Rating: 10/10
Used the private pool service and found that very relaxing. The staff led by Phil and Tina Smith are very friendly and helpful. The walk around the woodland thermal pools is free, very interesting and and well worth the effort. Would recommend anyone to go there. It may need some TLC but it is clean and well maintained. Well worth the $10 each.
John Harrison - Gloucester UK
26th January 2017
96
Rating: 1/10
Massive slip decimates Sylvia Flats Hot Springs, Lewis Pass: 20th January 2017 The famous Sylvia Flats natural thermal hot springs that has been a secret haven for locals and their friends for years, has disappeared following a massive landslip in the advent of the torrential rainfalls on the West Coast on 20th January 2017. The Lewis Pass region is host to numerous natural thermal waters, many in remote locations accessible only on foot. Sylvia Flats is located alongside the Lewis River, 20 kms past the Maruia Springs thermal resort. The weekend's downpour triggered a slip on the side of the highway, completely burying the geothermal pools. The access track from the car park has also completely collapsed . A DOC warning sign has long warned thermal bathers to not use the pools and be mindful of rockfalls, however has not deterred visitors to experience the wonder of the natural geothermal pools, that usually reach 40 degrees.
Michael Moore - Christchurch, New Zealand
22th January 2017
97
Rating: 10/10
We found the Secret Spot today at circa 4.00pm, (I suppose not so secret now given all of the reviews). We had a fantastic time and it was free, it was not crowded, the area was clean and only one discarded bottle was found, no broken glass was found in the area. Everybody was friendly and in a good frame of mind. It was textile bathing today which is fine as would skinny if that had been the majority mode of bathing. There are good wooden steps and railings to the stream which added to the experience and if they were provided and maintained by DOC then thanks. But whoever did this its a job well done. I will return when we are next in the area and would recommend it to others
Tim - UK
09th January 2017
98
Rating: 1/10
We booked a private pool online via bookme.nz the day before and received confirmation of our booking within the hour. Unfortunately, the following afternoon we turned up 30minutes before our allotted time of 2.30pm and were told that the private pools were fully booked! The woman at reception responded as if this was our fault for not double checking if our booking still stood, despite us producing the confirmation letter and the fact the money had been taken from us. Apparently nobody had checked 'the system' since the day before and so our booking did not go through, it would have been nice to have received warning of this via phonecall or email before making our way to the hot pools. We were very disappointed when we arrived to be turned away in this manner, as we had planned our day around this activity.
Nick - Australia
05th January 2017
99
Rating: 10/10
Beautiful emerald lake, temp like a warm bath, swam about three meters out. Nobody around. What a delight!
Amelia - Nz
02th January 2017
100
Rating: 2/10
Its definitely pretty and easy to find, but there is a huge government warning sign next to the pool because of Meningitis amebas, which by the way at 100% fatal if contracted. The sign advises to keep the water out of your noise, but is it really worth the risk? Also the entire trail leading up to pool is covered in used toilet paper. Ew.
Andrew C - Pleasanton, USA
01th January 2016
Latest Photo
Sylvia Flats Hot Springs [Destroyed by slip 20 Jan 2017)
The total destruction of Sylvia Flats Hot Polls is now happening. Contractors arrived May 2018 and are building a rock wall beside the river and a road along the cliff bottom. When finished there will be a rock wall dropping into the river with deep river water. This is being done to save the road … Continue reading Sylvia Flats Hot Springs [Destroyed by slip 20 Jan 2017)
Tekapo Springs (formerly Alpine Springs & Spa)
Tekapo Springs. Photo by Julian Apse (TNZ)
Tapuaeharuru Bay Springs
Taken in 2016. The hot water issues from the cleft immediately below the warning sign.